Music & Dance Music

Sabhas on a felicitation spree

Akkarai Subhalakshmi  

The honours conferred on musicians always arouse interest in the rasikas, who watch out for their favourites in the list. They will not be disappointed with the sabhas recognising the contributions of artists. A quick glance at this year’s list:

The Mylapore Fine Arts Club will celebrate its 63 annual Art Festival from December 10, 2014 to January 17, 2015, at 45, Musiri Subramaniam Salai, Mylapore. On the inaugural day, veteran violinist M. Chandrasekaran, will be conferred the ‘ Sangeetha Maha Kala Nipuna’ title and Rajeswari Sainath,Nrithya Kala Nipuna.’

Sri Thyaga Brahma Gana Sabha celebrates its 35 Isai, Iyal, Nataka Vizha and the 26 Bharatam fest from December 9 to January 31, 2015. The series will be inaugurated on December 9, 6 p.m. at Vani Mahal, T. Nagar.

Sri Rama Bhaktha Jana Samaj inaugurates its 18th annual music festival today, 6 p.m., at the Conference Hall, Meenakshi College of Engineering. A.N. Radhakrishnan, managing trustee, Meenakshi Ammal Trust, presides and S. Rajaji, director, Arun Excello, inaugurates the fest and confers the ‘ Sangeetha Mamani’ title on P. Unnikrishnan on the occasion.

Sruthi Laya Kendra’s annual music festival will be celebrated on December 6 and 7, at Asthiga Samajam, Venus Colony, Alwarpet. The inaugural day will feature the tani avartanam concert on the mridangam by Bangalore A.V. Anana and Anoor Anantha Krishna Sharma at 5.15 p.m. followed by the violin duet of Ganesh and Kumaresh. The sabha’s award function will take place on December 7. Sri Guru Surajananda Award will be conferred on Palghat Rajamani and Sri Gowri Manohari Award on Y. Prabu, secretary, Sri Krishna Gana Sabha. Sri Venkata Narasimhan Endowment Prize will be given to Salem Ranganathan. N. Gopalaswamy, chairman, Kalakshetra Foundation, will present the awards.

Kala Kruthi celebrates its December music festival from December 5 to 12, at Sankaralayam, 63, Mayor Ramanathan Road, Chetpet. The music series begins with the concert of Bombay Sisters on Dec. 5, 6.30 p.m.

SAFE is organising its 19th Annual Music Festival from December 8 to 17 at Srinivasa Sastri Hall, Luz. It will be inaugurated at 4.30 p.m. and presided over by R. Sundar (Hamsadhwani) and Y. Prabhu (Sri Krishna Gana Sabha). The following artists will be honoured with titles on the occasion.

Sangeetha Sasthra Virpannar: N. Ravikiran.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Parur M.A. Sundareswaran, Neyveli B. Venkatesh, Sikkil Mala Chandrasekhar and Patri Satish Kumar.

Sangeetha Saptha Sagara: Gayathri Girish, Sumithra Vasudev, Amritha Murali, Akkarai S. Subbulakshmi, Hemalatha and Charumathi Raghuraman. The award function will be followed by N. Ravikiran’s chitravina concert at 6.45 p.m. The accompanists are M.A. Sundareswaran (violin), Neyveli B. Venkatesh (mridangam) and Vaikom Gopalakrishnan (ghatam).

TAPAS Cultural Foundation will confer the titles ‘Vidhya Tapasvi’ on veena R. Parthasarathy and dancer Narthaki Nataraj for their service towards bhakthi oriented arts. The awards will be given away on December 21, 5 p.m., at Tattvaloka Auditorium, Eldams Road, Alwarpet.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 24, 2021 12:20:35 PM |

Next Story