Music Academy announces awards

Trichur V. Ramachandran will receive The Music Academy's coveted title of Sangita Kalanidhi.  

Vocalist Trichur V. Ramachandran, a torchbearer of the much-celebrated GNB style of singing, will receive the Sangita Kalanidhi title at The Music Academy’s 86 annual conference this year.

The award will be presented to him on January 1, 2013. He is known for his robust voice and vibrant presentation, a trademark of his guru G. N. Balasubramaniam’s singing.

Vocalist Tiruchi J. Venkataraman and violinist T. Rukmani will receive the ‘Sangita Kala Acharya’ awards, while the T.T.K. awards will be presented to mridangam vidwan Mullapudi Sriramamurthy and musician-cum-recording expert K.S. Raghunathan.

Dr. Ritha Rajan will receive the musicologist award and violinist Lalitha Raghavan will receive the Pappa Venkataramiah award for violin.

The Natya Kala Acharya Award for Dance, instituted last year, will be presented to eminent Bharatanatyam exponent Sudharani Raghupathy, at the inaugural ceremony of the dance festival on January 3, 2013.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 30, 2021 12:15:21 PM |

Next Story