Five GEMS of Tyagaraja

The saint-poet Tyagaraja is believed to have composed the Pancharatna kritis as a technical form for the benefit of his disciples.

Vidushi Vedavalli, an eminent musician and musicologist, puts her years of experience as music trainer to use to present this work.

What sets this guide apart from others is the way it is presented. Vedavalli has divided it into three sections. The first section deals with the sahitya, the second with the meanings and the last part gives notation. In the sahitya section, diacritic marks have been utilised to help readers get the exact pronunciation of the lyric. The notations in the third section are based on the version sung by vidwans in Tiruvaiyaru, The Music Academy, Chennai, and other cultural organisations during the Tyagaraja Aradhana.

This book is useful not just for students of music but music lovers as well.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 25, 2021 7:49:49 AM |

Next Story