Campus capsule

Protest by medical students

Protest by medical students  


Award for MSRIT professor

Dr. Channarayappa, Professor and Head, Department of Biotechnology, M.S. Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bangalore, has been awarded with the Shiksha Rattan Puraskar-2013 for meritorious services, outstanding performance and remarkable role, and ‘Glory of India Gold Medal’ for individual excellence in recognition of sterling merit, excellent performance and outstanding contribution to the progress of the nation.

The award was presented jointly by General (Retd) Joginder Jaswant Singh, former Chief of the Army Staff and former Governor of Arunachal Pradesh; Dr. Bhishma Narain Singh, former Union Minister and ex-Governor of Tamil Nadu and Assam; and Maj. Ved Prakash, AICC Secretary, on the occasion of National Seminar on ‘Economic Growth & National Integration’ held on August 24 at New Delhi.


ELECRAMA 2014, a power transmission and distribution (T&D) confluence, will be hosted by the Indian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturers’ Association (IEEMA) between January 8 and 12 at Bangalore. The event will include a competition - The Engineer Infinite (EI), a platform for engineering students to showcase their innovative projects aimed at providing smart and simple solutions in the electrical energy sector.

The pan-India competition for engineering students — comprising undergraduate, post-graduate and diploma students from colleges covering electrotech subjects — will have to submit their abstract online before September 22.

The projects qualifying for the grant list will be provided a financial grant of Rs. 12,500, while each student member will be provided with a fixed financial subsidy to meet the expenses for travel, stay, and local conveyance to attend ELECRAMA 2014 for the display of the project.

The winner of the Engineer Infinite event will get cash reward of Rs. 2 lakh, while two winners in the second position will receive cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh each. A sum of Rs. 50,000 each will be given to three participants winning the third position. Visit > for details or write to

Verbattle champs

Students from Mangalore won Verbattle Senior and Verbattle Junior competitions held recently in Bangalore. Students of Vidya Shilp Academy, Bangalore — Penu Hejmadi and Jiya Bhatia — emerged as winners in Verbattle Beginner. Apurva Vijay and Arzoo Ahmed of Yenepoya School, Mangalore, won in the Verbattle Juniors category. Vaibhav P. Dsouza and Vaishnavi Pavitran of St. Aloysius College, Mangalore, won in the Verbattle Seniors category.

Street play by students

Students of Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, Bangalore, recently performed a street play, ‘Atmaglani’ to highlight crimes against women. The proceeds from the event were donated to Vidyaranya Education and Development Society by the students. The play was directed by Nishant Trisal. The play also bagged the second place at the Symbiosis Institute of Business Management national-level fest.

Career Utsav

Career Utsav 2013 organised by K2 Learning Resources will be held on December 7 and 8 at the NIMHANS Convention Centre, Bangalore.

The fair on various career options will guide students and parents on opportunities that are available to students after Class 12. For further information log on to: >

Save the Doctor

Hundreds of medical students gathered and conducted a walk to request the Union Health Ministry to equalise Under-Graduation (UG) and Post-Graduation (PG) medical seats. The movement by the medical students called ‘Save the Doctor’ also took place in Mumbai, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Mysore, Guwahati and Hisar, on the same day.

Dressed in their regular lab coats along with a black ribbon, the students walked from Manipal Centre to ‘Bal Bhavan’ at Cubbon Park. As a symbolic gesture to articulate the lack of specialist doctors in the country, the medical students swept the road to make their voice heard.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 14, 2018 12:54:45 PM |

Next Story