Anandakrishnan retains IIT-Kanpur Chairman post

M. Anandakrishnan, veteran educationist, has been appointed Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Indian Institute of Technology - Kanpur for the third time.

The third tenure, lasting three years, will begin from June 12, according to an official release from the IIT-Kanpur.

The appointment was made by President Pratibha Patil in her capacity as the Visitor of the IIT-Kanpur.

Dr Anandakrishnan held the post of Vice-Chancellor of Anna University for two terms - 1990-1996. Earlier, he had served as a Senior Officer at the United Nation Centre for Science & Technology for Development, New York.

A civil engineer by profession, he obtained his Doctoral degree from University of Minnesota, United States, and he was Professor of Civil Engineering at IIT Kanpur. An Honorary Fellow of the Indian Society for Technical Education, Dr Anandakrishnan is a recipient of several honours and awards including the UGC National Swami Pranavananda Saraswati Award in Education and the Distinguished Leadership Award from the University of Minnesota.

The Presidents of Brazil and India presented him Scientific Merit Award in 1996 and Padma Shri in 2002.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2021 3:09:28 PM |

Next Story