PSBB Millennium proves equal to the task

PSBB Millennium eased past Vidya Mandir by five wickets in the final.  

PSBB Millennium overcame the twin pressure of chasing a challenging total, and that too in the final, while winning the Eswar Cricket Academy under-15 inter-school tournament recently.

Set a target of 250 in 50 overs, the Millennium boys refused to blink. Capitalising on a blazing start provided by the aggressive Yash, the side breezed home in the 43rd over with five wickets to spare. Vignesh S. Iyer, V.S. Nitin and Ram Narayanan kept the scoreboard ticking and took the team close to the finish line before skipper S. Aakash sealed it for Millennium. 

“It was a team effort. We knew that we just had to bat out the overs if we wanted to win. I am glad the move paid off,” said Aakash.    

Vignesh, a fan of Virat Kohli and A.B. de Villiers for their style and the way they put a price on their wicket, said the two-hour stint before the big day worked wonders. All-rounder Pranav, on the other hand, felt that enjoying the game and being positive always helped him click right through the tournament.  

Nitin, the pillar behind the stumps, however, approaches the matches differently. “The day before a game, I visualise how it would pan out. Since I mentally get ready, I don’t feel overawed by the occasion or the opponent,” he said.  

The credit for transforming a good team into a champion outfit goes to coach K. Kalyana Sundaram, said Vidya Shankar, the ‘unofficial’ coach of Millennium and father of Nitin, who has been with the side through thick and thin. “Kalyan has instilled the winning culture in the boys and made them believe in themselves,” he said. 

The scores (final): Vidya Mandir (Mylapore) 249 for eight in 50 overs (S. Athreya Sudharshan 73, Siddarth Sai Kumar 33, S. Dhananjay 29 n.o., Dipen Chandrakanth three for 35) lost to PSBB Millennium 251 for five in 42.2 overs (Vignesh S. Iyer 65, V.S. Nitin 51, S. Aakash 40 n.o., Ram Narayanan 36, Yash 25). 

Special awards: Best batsman: K. Vijay Priyadarshan (Vidya Mandir): Best bowler: Sushil Raj (Velammal IS); Best wicketkeeper: M. Badri Narayanan (Vidya Mandir); Best fielder: Ram Narayanan (PSBB); Player of the final: Vignesh S. Iyer (PSBB); Player of the series: Pranav Kumar (PSBB). 

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 4, 2021 3:27:41 AM |

Next Story