Stars in Sharjah

The days were short and the nights longer in Sharjah as the South Indian International Movie Awards were given away on Thursday and Friday evenings (and related action that extended to the morning after) as stars from the South shone bright and partied all night.

SIIMA, organised by the creators of Celebrity Cricket League, was twice the length of other award shows but only because categories were spread through all four film industries of the South.

About 7,000 people showed up at the Expo Centre to be entertained by the hosts Ash Chandler (on Day 1) and Arya and Rana (on Day 2) and a range of performances from Usha Uthup (who rocked the show with mini concerts on both days getting the stars to sing and dance along with her) to Anirudh Ravichander and tribute dance medleys by Hansika Motwani, Ragini Dwivedi, Rima Kallingal, Shriya Saran and Shruti Haasan. Shahid Kapoor showed up with Ileana to do an improvised dance from Phata Poster Nikla Hero with hosts Arya and Rana. With over 10 hours of televised running time and regional channels adding their own segments to give the show a strong local flavour with comic interludes, it was the true celebration of the South Indian film industry.

High on sentiments

The show was high on sentiments as the crowd rose on its feet to applaud Sowcar Janaki and K.J. Yesudas, who were honoured with Lifetime Achievement awards. Trisha Krishnan and Kavya Madhavan were given Special Appreciation Awards for their significant contribution during the decade.

While Kumki (Tamil), Eega (Telugu), Katari Veera Surasundarangi (Kannada) and Ustad Hotel (Malayalam) won Best Film, directors Balaji Sakthivel (Vazakku En 18/9), Harish Shankar (Gabbar Singh), A.P. Arjun (Addhuri) and Lal Jose (Ayalum Nyanum Thammil) took home the Best Director awards.

With a few other categories that honoured Best Debut Director, Best Debut Actor, Best Debut Actress and Best Debut Producer, most of those nominated or showed up from Chennai went home with one prize or the other.

Dhanush went home with most number of awards — Best Actor (Popular), Best Playback Singer (Male) and Best Lyricist and also the strictly-for-laughs, cheeky Arya-Rana Best couple award (for his performance with Simbu at SIIMA last year where the two bonded well on stage). Even if Anirudh and Dhanush had no plans to sing ‘Kolaveri Di’, Usha Uthup got him on stage to sing along.

Pizza won a bunch of awards — Vijay Sethupathy, Best Actor (Critics); Karthik Subbaraj (Best Debut Director); and C.V. Kumar (Best Debut Producer), while Lingusamy’s banner Thirrupathy Bros won awards for Best Film (Kumki), Best Actor in Supporting Role (Saranya), Best Comedian (Thambi Ramaiah), Best Debut Actor (Vikram Prabhu) and Best Cinematography (Sukumar for Kumki).



Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Madhavan ( Vettai)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Vidyut Jamwal ( Thuppakki)

Best Actress: Hansika Motwani ( Oru Kal Oru Kannadi)

Best Actress (Critics): Kajal Aggarwal ( Thuppakki)

Best Music Director: Harris Jayaraj ( Thuppakki)


Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Rajendra Prasad ( Julai)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Saloni Aswani ( Bodyguard)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Sudeep ( Eega)

Best Comedian: Prabhas Sreenu ( Gabbar Singh)

Best Actress: Shruthi Hassan ( Gabbar Singh)

Best Actress (Critics): Nayantara ( Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum)

Best Actor (Critics): Rana ( Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum)

Best Music Director: Devi Sri Prasad ( Gabbar Singh)


Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Rangayana Raghu ( Romeo)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Nidhi Subbaiah ( Anna Bond)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Pooja Gandhi ( Dandupalya)

Best Comedian: Sadhu Kokila ( Yaare Koogadali)

Best Actress: Priyamani ( Charulatha)

Best Actress (Critics): Ragini Dwivedi ( Shiva)

Best Actor: Shivarajkumar ( Shiva)

Best Actor (Critics): Upendra ( Katari Veera Surasundarangi)

Best Music Director: Arjun Janya ( Romeo)


Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Nandu ( Spirit)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Swetha Menon ( Ozhimuri)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Pratap Pothen ( 22 Female Kottayam)

Best Comedian: Suraj Venjaramood ( Mr Marumakan)

Best Actress: Amala Paul ( Run Baby Run)

Best Actress (Critics): Rima Kallingal ( 22 Female Kottayam)

Best Actor: Mohanlal ( Spirit)

Best Actor (Critics): Fahadh Faasil ( Diamond Necklace)

Best Music Director: Shaan Rahman ( Thattathin Marayathu)

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 8, 2020 12:50:46 PM |

Next Story