Hitman: Songs you must listen to this week

‘Thalakaalu Puriyalaye’

Kidaari (Tamil)

Music: Darbuka Siva

When Anitha. K opens the ‘Thalakaalu Puriyalaye’, with an amazingly misleading prelude, one can hardly imagine what is to come after it. What follows is a joyous outburst of a song, with a brass section and a rock sound full of swagger. Debutant composer Darbuka Siva, of La Pongal fame, brings his own brand of folk music, infusing a lovely smattering of nadaswaram and thavil in the second interlude.

‘Toota Jo Kabhi Tara’

A Flying Jatt (Hindi)

Music: Sachin-Jigar

‘Toota jo kabhi tara’ is Sachin and Jigar answering director Remo D’Souza’s request for a sweeping, ‘timeless’ romantic song. The intent is obvious and the tune flows gorgeously passing through a wonderfully lush orchestration, particularly in the antara, with the main musical hook appearing often. Pakistani singer Atif Aslam is dependably good, while Sumedha Karmahe sounds confident.


Music: Sanjay Divecha and Secret (Indipop)

Guitarist and composer Sanjay Divecha’s latest band, Secret, comprises of Sanjay himself on acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards, programming (and occasional vocals), Chandana Bala and Raman Mahadevan handling the main vocals, Sonu Sangameswaran handling bass and Sanket Naik handling the percussion. ‘Ota’, the Kannada opener of the album is a lovely song split by marked changes to the sound at the end of each utterance of ‘Saaguve na munde’ by Chandana Bala. After the first, there is a subtle percussion addition to what was till then primarily guitar-driven. After the second, the lively jazz’y backgrounds kick-in. After the third, the track acquires a beautifully divergent, free-form direction. At the fourth, the song ends.

‘Ee Khalbitha’

IDI (Malayalam)

Music: Rahul Raj

Malayalam composer Rahul Raj has, by now, created his own trademark melody. ‘Ee Khalbitha’ has all the signs of that trademark a soothing melody that is instantly likeable, a harmonious chorus, topped by fantastic vocals. The vocals here are being handled by Suchith Suresan and he does a phenomenal job. Rahul also throws in a dash of Rahman-styled flute to added effect.

‘Hot Coffee Kappu’

L 7 (Telugu)

Music: Aravind-Shankar

Composing duo Aravind-Shankar made their debut back in 2002, in Vasanth’ s Yai Nee Romba Azhaga Irukey, as one of the five composers. From then, they have had a chequered career, often sharing credits with other composers. Their latest, the oddly titled L 7, sees them going solo, and they produce a delightful mix. ‘Hot coffee kappu’ is classic, time-tested mambo presented really well by the duo. Harshitha Krishnan’s sultry vocals add to that, while Shudeep Chandrasekar offers her good company.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 21, 2021 11:00:00 PM |

Next Story