Kerala State film awards: ‘Kanthan...’, 'Sudani from Nigeria' win honours

Soubin Shahir with Samuel Abiola Robinson in a still from Sudani from Nigeria   | Photo Credit: Special arrangement

Kanthan - the lover of colour, directed by C.Sherief, which highlights the struggle for survival of adivasis, has been chosen as the best film in the Kerala state film awards for the year 2018. State Minister A.K. Balan on Wednesday announced the 49th Kerala State Film Awards.


Shyamaprasad received the best director award for Oru Njayarazhcha, which also won the award for the second best film. Sudani from Nigeria won the award for best popular film. Zachariah won the award for the best debutant director for the same film.

Soubin Shahir and Jayasurya shared the award for the best male actor. Jayasurya won the award for his performances as footballer V.P.Sathyan in Captain and as a trangender person in Njan Marykutty, while Soubin won the award for his moving performance as a football coach in Sudani from Nigeria. Nimisha Sajayan won the best actor (female) award for Chola and Oru Kuprasidha Payyan.

Joju George won the award for best character actor (male) for his performance as a brooding police investigator in Joseph and for Chola. Savithri Sreedharan and Sarasa Balussery, who together lighted up the screen in Sudani from Nigeria shared the award for Best character actor (female).

Zachariah and Muhsin Parari won the award for best screenplay for Sudani from Nigeria, while Joy Mathew won the best story award for Uncle.

Carbon directed by Venu, was the big winner with six awards, most of them in the technicla categories, with K.U.Mohanan winning the best cinematographer award, Anil Radhakrishnan winning the best sync sound award, C.Jayadevan winning the best sound design, Sinoy Joseph winning the best sound mixing and Prime focus, Mumbai winning the best laboratory/colourist. Bollywood filmmaker and musician Vishal Baraadwaj won the best music award too for Carbon.

Bijibal won the best background score award for Aami. Vijay Yesudas was chosen as the best playback singer (male) for the song Poomuthole from Joseph, while Shreya Ghoshal won the best playback singer (female) award for Neermathala poovinullil from Aami'.

Aravind Manmathan won the award for best editing for 'Oru Njayarazhcha'. 'Angu doore oru deshath' has been chosen as the best children's film. Master Rithun won the award for the best child actor (male) for 'Appuvinte sathyanweshanam', while Abeni Aadi won the best actor (female) for 'Panthu'.

Minister for Culture A.K.Balan announced at a press conference here on Wednesday. He said that 104 films were considered for the aqards, out of which 57 were by debutant directors. Twenty films were considered in the final round by the jury headed by Kumar Shahani.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 3, 2021 12:12:28 PM |

Next Story