IFFK lifetime award for Godard

French-Swiss filmmaker Jean-Luc Godard, the pioneer of the French New Wave film movement, will receive the lifetime achievement award of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK).

He will participate in the festival through videoconferencing and filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan will receive the award on his behalf.

Also Read: Get 'First Day First Show', our weekly newsletter from the world of cinema, in your inbox. You can subscribe for free here


Delegate registration for the 25th IFFK that will be held across four locations this year will commence on January 30.

The festival will be held in Thiruvananthapuram from February 10 to 14, in Kochi from February 17 to 21, in Thalassery from February 23 to 27 and in Palakkad from March 1 to 5 in strict adherence to the COVID-19 protocol.

IFFK lifetime award for Godard

Online registration will commence on at 10 a.m. on Saturday for all the locations. The delegates’ fee has been reduced to ₹750 for the general category and ₹400 for students.

Registrations can be made only to the locations near one’s home town. Participants from Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam and Pathanamthitta can register for Thiruvananthapuram, while those from Ernakulam, Kottayam and Idukki can register for Kochi, those from Palakkad and Malappuram for Palakkad, and those from Kozhikode, Kannur and Kasaragod for Thalassery. Participants from Alappuzha can opt for Thiruvananthapuram or Kochi and those from Thrissur may register for Kochi or Palakkad. Likewise, those from Wayanad can choose either Palakkad or Thalassery. While the number of seats in Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi have been capped at 2,500, there are 1,500 seats each in Thalassery and Palakkad.

COVID-19-negative certificates issued on the basis of tests undertaken 48 hours prior to the festivals should be produced to obtain the delegate’s passes. The Kerala Chalachitra Academy will also establish facilities for antigen tests in association with the Health Department at the centres.

Entry to theatres will be on the basis of reservation. Seat numbers will be allotted to delegates in a manner that ensures social distancing.


A commemorative stamp to mark the silver jubilee of the IFFK will be brought out in association with India Post. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will formally launch the stamp after receiving it from the Chief Postmaster General, Kerala Circle, during the presentation of the 50th State Film Awards at Tagore Theatre on Friday.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 7:44:04 AM |

Next Story