‘Pravaha’ will feature new choreographies

‘Pravaha’ at NCPA, Mumbai will feature the new productions of Madhavi Mudgal, Vaibhav Arekar, Mallika Sarabhai and Geeta Chandran

‘Pravaha’, to be hosted by NCPA, on December 16 and 21 at Tata Theatre, will showcase new choreographies and translation of experiences to creations by four renowned classical dancers.

Madhavi Mudgal’s presentation will begin with Ahvan, an invocatory chant of the first eight hymns from Rig Veda, addressing Agni. Ragamalika Pallavi, dance tapestry using musical modes and rhythmic structures, will build up gradually into complex patterns through aesthetic sequences. The ragas used are Kalyan thaat: Hamir, Kamod, Kedar and Chhaya Nat.

Teevra Madhyam will showcase formations derived from a single musical note that runs as a common thread between various ragas (Hindol, Vasant, Marwa, Maru Behag and Kalyan). Musical motifs translate into spatial ones.

‘Pravaha’ will feature new choreographies

Vasant, built around the sixth century Sanskrit poem, Ritusamhara of Kalidas, will announce the advent of spring, Cupid incarnate in all his resplendence.

Taopoi, 16th century folk tale from Odisha, written by Gopinath Das in the backdrop of maritime trade links with Southeast Asia. Daughter of a rich owner of seven ships, Taopoi, enticed by a cunning woman, insists on a gold toy moon, which brings ill-luck to the family.

Her brothers go sailing in search of trade. The cunning woman appears again to poison the ears of the wives, who send Taopoi to the forest to tend goats, scheming that wild animals would devour her. Only the youngest wife desists. Threatened by the eldest that her nose would be chopped off, Taopoi leaves home. Through divine intervention, her seven brothers return, discover the truth and decide to punish their wives. Taopoi chops off the tips of their noses, except that of the youngest one. Taopoi is reinstated into her home, along with her brothers. Music composition is by Madhup Mudgal and Maheshwar Rao

Vaibhav Arekar’s ‘Four seasons’ is about seasons as experienced ‘outside’ and ‘within.’ This is a work of choreographed poetry where dancers paint an external frame of seasons as seen and experienced. From within them arises the personal stories of anger and conflict; of love and pain; of void and isolation and of hope and celebration.

‘Pravaha’ will feature new choreographies

Grishma is the summer fire that burns the forest akin to the inner conflict that devours man. Varsha draws a simile between the parched earth yearning for rainfall and the lover yearning for her beloved. Shishir highlights the nothingness in life and poses the question about what remains when everything is strewn away. Vasanta is the season of hope and happiness that justifies optimism in the cycle of life. Designed by Sushant Jadhav, the choreography is by Vaibhav Arekar.

Mallika Sarabhai & Troupe present ‘Svakranti – The Revolution Within’. In this intensely personal performance, Mallika Sarabhai uses multimedia, theatre, music and dance to trace the journey of women seekers of truth and to contextualise them in the world today. In an imaginary conversation with Mahatma Gandhi, Mallika Sarabhai traverses the lives of women who have struggled non-violently with truth through the ages, questioning the relevance of this path today. Concept, Script, Direction, Choreography and Performance is by Mallika Sarabhai

‘Pravaha’ will feature new choreographies

Geeta Chandran and her Natya Vriksha Dance Company will stage ‘Anekanta,’ rooted in Jaina Philosophy. The diversity and universal acceptance of multiple truths is portrayed through traditional compositions, skillfully woven together to represent the philosophy. The creative choreography by Geeta Chandran and dramatic strategies like an Alarippu presented in three speeds; exploring Grihabheda; finding linkages between sounds and silence; many roopams of Devi, and Viswaroopam of Vishnu, will celebrate the coexistence of multiple realities and approaches.

‘Pravaha’ will feature new choreographies

Music is designed by Geeta Chandran, in collaboration with K. Venkateshwaran and Dr. S. Vasudevan. This lyrical musicscape is further enhanced with rhythmic inputs by (late) K. Sivakumar and Lalgudi Sri Ganesh. Intellectual inputs are from Sudhamahi Regunathan, renowned Jaina scholar.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 6, 2020 7:29:11 PM |

Next Story