West Bengal Assembly Elections 2016

West Bengal Assembly polls: Hits and misses

The West Bengal Assembly Elections has seen some expected wins and unexpected losses. Here are some top politicians from both sides of the divide:

Mamata Banerjee

The Trinamool Congress chief has won from Bhabanipur constituency defeating her closest rival Deepa Dasmunshi of Congress by 25,301 votes.

The biggest and smallest victory margins

Rajib Banerjee (Trinamool Congress);
Margin: 1,07,701 Rafikul Islam Mondal (CPI (M));
Basirhat Uttar;
Margin: 492 Seuli Saha (Trinamool Congress);
Margin: 1,01,151 Nepal Ghorui (Trinamool Congress);
Margin: 448 Manoj Chakraborty (INC);
Margin: 92,273 Ali Mortuza Khan (INC);
Margin 280

Biggest victories

Smallest victories

Surjya Kanta Mishra

The CPI(M) State secretary and Opposition leader in the outgoing Assembly has lost his Narayangarh seat in West Midnapore district to Trinamool Congress nominee Prodyut Kumar Ghosh by 13,589 votes.

Dilip Ghosh

The West Bengal BJP president beat sitting Congress MLA Gyan Singh Sohanpal from Kharagpur Sadar seat in West Midnapore district by 6,309 votes. Aged 91, Mr. Sohanpal is the seniormost member of the outgoing Assembly.

Bhaichung Bhutia

The former Indian football captain and Trinamool's Siliguri candidate was defeated by Siliguri Mayor and former CPI (M) Minister Ashok Bhattacharyaby by 14,072 votes.

Laxmi Ratan Shukla

The former Bengal cricket captain has won the Howrah North seat on a Trinamool ticket by defeating his nearest rival Santosh Kumar Pathak of the Congress.

The Narada-stung

The Narada sting operation seems to have failed to cut much ice with the West Bengal electorate. Five of the six Narada-stung nominees of the ruling party have emerged victorious, reports IANS. The only candidate to lose was Madan Mitra, the first former State Minister to contest the polls from behind the bars.

Five of the legislators caught in the sting — Suvendu Adhikari from Nandigram, Frihad Hakim from Kolkata Port, Subrata Mukherjee from Ballygunge, Sovan Chatterjee from Behala East, and Iqbal Ahmed from Khanakul — retained their seats.

Hit rate of parties (in %)

  • TMC 211/293 72.01%
  • CPI(M) 17.57%
  • INC 44/92 47.83%
  • BJP 3/291 1.03%
  • AIFB 2/25 8%
Seat Tally (2016)
Party Won Swing
AITC 211 +27
CPI(M) 26 -14
INC 44 +2
BJP 3 +3
AIFB 2 -9

Party position

(With agency inputs)

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 29, 2021 11:26:13 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/westbengal2016/West-Bengal-Assembly-polls-Hits-and-misses/article14330062.ece

Next Story