West Bengal

West Bengal Assembly elections | Congress releases names of 13 candidates

Congress flag. File  

The Congress on Saturday released the names of 13 candidates who will be contesting in the first two phases of the Assembly polls in West Bengal. The party is in alliance with the Left parties and the Indian Secular Front. The Left parties had on Friday issued a list of 37 candidates leaving 13 seats for the Congress and five for the ISF. The alliance is yet to decide nominees for the five remaining seats.

Also read: West Bengal Assembly elections | Suvendu Adhikari to take on Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram

The Congress list includes five candidates for the first phase and eight for the second. Senior leader and MLA Nepal Mahato will contest from the Baghmundi seat in Purulia district, Debu Chatterjee from Bishnupur and Samir Roy from the Kharagpur Sadar seat.

Sixty seats will go to the polls in the first two phases scheduled on March 27 and April 1.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 14, 2021 1:07:46 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/west-bengal-assembly/west-bengal-assembly-elections-congress-announces-first-list-of-13-candidates/article34008249.ece

Next Story