West Bengal

West Bengal Assembly elections | EC transfers more police officers in Bengal

Voters wait in queues to cast votes at a polling station during the 7th phase of West Bengal Assembly elections at a village near Balurghat in South Dinajpur district, West Bengal on April 26, 2021.   | Photo Credit: PTI

The Election Commission of India (ECI) transferred a few police officers as West Bengal voted in the seventh phase of Assembly polls on April 26, officials said.

Shantanu Sinha Biswas, an Inspector at the Directorate of Economic Offences, was transferred to the Office of the DIG Jalpaiguri Range as a Crime Inspector, they said.

Mr. Sinha was accused by the BJP of manipulating postal ballots.

Srimanta Kumar Bandopadhyay, the Assistant Commissioner of Asansol-Durgapur Police, was named the new Sub-Divisional Police Officer of Bolpur, as per an order issued on April 25 night.

Shubhendra Kumar, the present SDPO of Bolpur, was diagnosed with COVID-19.

Nihar Ranjan Roy, the Circle Inspector of Krishnaganj in Krishnanagar police district, was made the new Inspector in-charge of the Murshidabad police station, replacing Atish Das, the order said.

Mr. Das was moved to the Police Directorate, it added.

The EC has been making a slew of transfers as the State voted.

West Bengal is voting in eight phases for the 294-member Assembly. The votes will be counted on May 2.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 13, 2021 2:46:29 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/west-bengal-assembly/election-commission-transfers-more-police-officers-in-west-bengal/article34413559.ece

Next Story