BJP fields former Uttarakhand Congress president Upadhyay from Tehri

The BJP on January 28 named Kishore Upadhyay, a former State Congress president who joined it on January 27 as its candidate from Tehri assembly seat in Uttarakhand.

The party also fielded Brij Bhushan Gairola from Doiwala, from where former Uttarakhand chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat is the sitting MLA but has expressed his unwillingness to contest the poll this time.

With the announcement, the BJP has now named all its candidates for the February 14 elections to the 70-member assembly. The BJP is in power in the State.

Unhappy with shrinking space for him in the Congress, Mr. Upadhyay had joined the BJP in the presence of Union Minister and the party's election in-charge for Uttarakhand Pralhad Joshi and Union Minister of State for Defence Ajay Bhatt.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 20, 2022 12:16:20 am | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/uttarakhand-assembly/bjp-fields-former-uttarakhand-congress-president-upadhyay-from-tehri/article38338302.ece