Uttarakhand: Key winners and losers

March 11, 2017 09:48 am | Updated 06:33 pm IST

Harish Rawat.

Harish Rawat.

The Bharatiya Janata Party swept Uttarakhand decimating the ruling Congress with Chief Minister Harish Rawat himself losiing in his Hardwar Rural seat.


Adesh Chauhan of BJP won BHEL Ranipur defeating Ambrish Kumar of Congress by 22,240 votes.

Mahendra Bhatt of BJP won Badrinath defeating Rajendra Singh Bhandari of Congress by 5,634 votes.

Vinod Chamoli of BJP won Dharampur defeating Dinesh Aggarwal of the Congress by 10,953 votes.

Gopal Singh Rawat of BJP won Gangotri defeating Vijaypal Singh Sajwan by 9,610 votes.

Shaktilal Shah of BJP won Ghansali defeating Dhanilal Shah (Independent) by 11,653 votes.

Vijay Singh Panwar of BJP won Pratap Nagar, defeating Vikram Singh Negi of the Congress with a margin of 1,939 votes.

Rajkumar of the Congress won Purola seat, defeating BJP’s Malchand by 1,013 votes.

Prem Chandra Aggarwal of the BJP won Rishikesh, defeating Rajpal Singh Kharola of the Congress by a margin of 14,801 votes.

BJP’s Rajkumar Thukral won Rudrapur seat, defeating Tilak Raj Behar by a margin of 24,771 votes.

Diwan Singh Bisht of the BJP won Ramnagar defeating Ranjit Rawat of Congress with a margin of 8,611 votes.

BJP candidate Sahdev Singh Pundir won Sahaspur defeating Kishore Upadhaya of the Congress with a margin of 18,863 votes.

Munna Singh Chauhan of the BJP won Vikasnagar by defeating Navprabhat by a margin of 6,418 votes.

BJP’s Kedar Singh won Yamunotri seat defeating Sanjay Dobhal of the Congress by 5,960 votes.

In Bhimtal seat, Independent candidate Ram Singh Kaira defeated BJP’s Goviond Singh Bisht by a margin of 3,446 votes.

In Chakrata seat, Congress’ Pritam Singh defeated Madhu Chauhan of BJP by a margin of 1,543 votes.

Harbans Kapoor of BJP won Dehradun Cantt seat, defeating Suryakant Dhasmana of Congress by a margin of 16,670 votes.

In Devprayag seat, BJP candidate Vinod Kandari defeated Independent candidate Diwakar Bhatt by a margin of 3,499 votes.

Mahesh Singh Negi of BJP won Dwarahat, defeating Madan Singh Bisht of the Congress by a margin of 6,593 votes.

BJP candidate Saurav Bahuguna, son of Vijay Bahuguna, won Sitarganj, defeating Malti Biswas of the Congress with a margin of 28,540 votes.

Deshraj Karanwal of the BJP emerged victorious in Jhabreda seat by defeating the Congress’ Rajpal Singh with a margin of 2,253 votes.

BJP’s Mukesh Singh Koli won Pauri seat by defeating Congress’ Naval Kishore by 7,030 votes.

Furkan Ahmad of the Congress defeated BJP’s Daibhagwan by 1,439 votes to win PiranKaliyar seat.

Kazi Mohammad Nizamuddin of the Congress defeated BSP’s Sarbat Karim Ansari by 2,668 votes to win Manglore seat.

BJP’s Pradip Batra won Roorkee seat, defeating Congress’ Suresh Chandra Jain by a margin of 12,542 votes.

Yashpal Arya of the BJP won Bajpur by defeating Sunita Tamta of the Congress with a margin of 12,636 votes.

Mamta Rakesh of the Congress defeated BJP’ Subodh Rakesh by 2,513 votes to win Bhagwanpur seat.

Suresh Rathore won Jwalapur seat by defeating Congress’ S P Singh Engineer by a margin of 4,788 votes.

BJP’s Chander Ram Das won Bageshwar, defeating Congress’ Balkishan with a margin of 14,567 votes.

Congress candidate Harish Singh won Dharchula defeating BJP’s Virender Singh Pal with a margin of 3,085 votes.

BJP’s Vishan Singh Chufal defeated Independent Kishan Bhandari by 2368 votes in Didihat.

Gadarpur seat went to BJP’s Arvind Pandey who defeated Congress’ Rajendra Pal Singh with a margin of 14,106 votes.

Sanjay Gupta of the BJP won Laksar seat by defeating Haji Tasleem Ahmad with a margin of 1604 votes.

Naveen Chandra Dumka of BJP defeating Congress’s Harish Chandra Durgapal by 27,108 votes to win Lalkuwa seat.

Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion defeated Mufti Riyasat Ali of the BSP with a margin of 13,735 votes in Khanpur.

Surendra Singh Negi of the BJP won Karnaprayag seat, defeating Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri with a margin of 2,280 votes.

Balawant Singh Bhouriyal of the BJP won Kapkot seat defeating Lalit Farwan of the Congress by 5,982 votes.

While the BJP is winning the Uttarakhand Assembly election, its Uttarakhand chief Ajay Bhatt has lost the Ranikhet seat to the Congress by 4,981 votes.

Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat lost the Hardwar Rural seat by a margin of 12,278 votes.

Uttarakhand Pradesh Congress Committee President Kishore Upadhyay loses the Sahaspur seat to the BJP by 18,863 votes.

Chief Minister Harish Rawat is behind in Kichha seat by 1,750 votes. In the Haridwar Rural seat too Mr. Rawat is trailing behind by 3,000 votes

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.