Congress rebels romp home in Uttarakhand

Harish Rawat lost in both the seats he contested from

March 12, 2017 01:24 am | Updated November 29, 2021 01:31 pm IST - Dehradun

Harish Rawat

Harish Rawat

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat, who was a “victim” of President’s Rule last year and had expected to win the Assembly polls on a sympathy wave, lost the polls to the BJP, while Congress “rebels” emerged victorious.

Mr. Rawat, who was the chief ministerial candidate for the Congress, lost both the Kichha and Haridwar Rural seats from where he had contested. However, barring two former Congress “rebels”, all others won the polls on the BJP ticket.


Speaking to The Hindu in a recent interview, Mr. Rawat had said, “I have no malice against anyone, but the truth is that if the turncoats win, then Uttarakhand will lose. Their victory would mean instability for Uttarakhand politics for the next five to 10 years. If they win, it would mean that the public accepts the kind of politicians who, if they are unhappy with the functioning of their party, rebel against it and join some other party, even if this leads to the imposition of President’s Rule.”

“However, if they lose, then Uttarakhand will win. Hence, it is imperative that they must lose. I think the people of Uttarakhand also understand this,” Mr. Rawat had said.

Among the former Congress “rebels”, Umesh Sharma Kau won the Raipur seat, Subodh Uniyal the Narendranagar seat, Pradeep Batra the Roorkee seat, Kunwar Pranav Singh ‘Champion’ the Khanpur seat, Harak Singh Rawat the Kotdwar seat, and Rekha Arya the Someshwar seat.

Vijay Bahuguna, who served as chief minister of the hill State while he was with the Congress and crossed over to the BJP after being sidelined by the Congress, had sought the BJP ticket for his son Saurabh Bahuguna. The younger Bahuguna won the Sitarganj seat on Saturday.

The two rebels who lost were Shaila Rani Rawat, who lost the Kedarnath seat, and Shailendra Mohan Singhal, who lost the Jaspur seat.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.