Mayawati changes two more candidates in U.P.

BSP had earlier declared Bablu Kumar Rathore as its candidate in Firozabad but replaced him with Shazia Hasan

January 29, 2022 02:14 am | Updated 03:17 am IST - LUCKNOW

BSP Supremo Mayawati.

BSP Supremo Mayawati.

The BSP has replaced candidates again in Uttar Pradesh, this time for two seats in Firozabad district in the central part of the State. With Friday’s changes, BSP chief Mayawati has changed nominees on 11 seats so far, with many leaders from outside the party getting last minute entries.

The BSP had earlier declared party member Bablu Kumar Rathore as its candidate in Firozabad but on Friday replaced him with Shazia Hasan, the wife of former SP MLA Azim Bhai. The SP already declared its candidate in Firozabad, thus denying Mr. Azim’s wife. Mr. Azim had rebelled against the SP in 2017 but returned to the party last year. He was defeated in the last two elections in Firozabad — on both occasions by the BJP’s Manish Asija .

In the second change in Sirsaganj, Ms Mayawati replaced Raghvendra Singh, who had stood third in 2017, with Pankaj Mishra who secured the fourth spot while fighting on a Jan Adhikar Manch symbol.

The BSP had earlier changed its candidates on nine seats in western U.P. —Dhampur (Bijnor), Kundarki (Moradabad), Khatauli (Muzaffarnagar), Ghaziabad, Garhmukhteshwar (Hapur), Mathura, Etmadpur (Agra), Agra North and Khair (Aligarh).

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.