After victory in assembly polls, BJP eyes majority in U.P. Legislative Council

Biennial State Legislative Council elections to be held on April 9

Updated - September 27, 2023 10:40 am IST

Published - March 14, 2022 03:19 pm IST - Lucknow

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath with BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda, during his first visit to Delhi after party’s victory in recent Assembly elections, in New Delhi, on Sunday, March 13, 2022.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath with BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda, during his first visit to Delhi after party’s victory in recent Assembly elections, in New Delhi, on Sunday, March 13, 2022. | Photo Credit: PTI

After a landslide victory in the State Legislative Assembly, the BJP would be eying to win the majority of 36 seats in the State Legislative Council where biennial elections will be held on April 9.

The 36 seats of U.P.'s Upper House are spread across 35 local authorities' constituencies, where polls were earlier planned on two different dates, but now it will be conducted together on April 9, sources in the election office said on Monday.

For the ruling BJP, which came back to power with a two-third majority in the just concluded Assembly elections, it will be an opportunity to make itself the single-largest party in the House, and thereby enjoy a majority in both the Houses of U.P. Legislature.

According to the official website, of the 100-member U.P. Legislative Council, currently the BJP has 35 MLCs, SP has 17 and the BSP has four MLCs.

The Congress, Apna Dal (Sonelal) and NISHAD party have one member each in the U.P. Legislative Council.

The Teachers' group has 2 MLCs, while the Independent group ('Nirdal Samooh') and Independents have 1 MLC each.

As many as 37 seats are vacant at present.

Leader of the Opposition in the Council Ahmad Hassan died after prolonged illness.

Ahead of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, a number of SP MLCs had also joined the BJP.

They included Narendra Singh Bhati, Shatrudra Prakash, Rama Niranjan, Ravishankar Singh Pappu, C.P. Chandra, Ghanshyam Lodhi, Shailendra Pratap Singh and Ramesh Mishra.

BSP MLC Suresh Kashyap had also joined the BJP.

The election process will recommence on March 15, and the notification for the second phase will also be issued, sources said.

Technically, the elections are still being held in two phases as originally announced, but polling will now be held on a single day.

The schedule was tweaked following demands by political parties, the Election Commission (EC) had said in a statement on February 6.

On January 28, the EC had announced that the biennial Legislative Council elections will be held in two phases on March 3 and 7.

The counting was to take place on March 12.

Now, polling for both the phases will now be held on April 9 and counting will take place on April 12.

The term of the members ended on March 7.

The Mathura-Etah-Mainpuri local authorities' constituency has two seats for which separate elections will be held.

In the first phase, 29 constituencies and in the second phase, six constituencies were to go to polls.

Focusing on the Legislative Council elections, U.P. BJP's general secretary J.P.S. Rathore on Monday told PTI, "A meeting was held at the party office in this regard, and 3-5 names of probable candidates have been invited from each seat."

He added that the voters in this election are village pradhans, members and chairmen of block development councils, members and chairmen of zila panchayat, corporators in urban areas. Apart from this, MLAs and MPs are also voters.

In the recently-concluded Assembly elections, the BJP has won 255 seats, while its allies Apna Dal (Sonelal) and NISHAD party have won 12 and six seats, respectively.

Samajwadi Party has won 111 seats, while its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal has won eight seats. SBSP, another ally of the SP, has won six seats.

Congress has won two seats, while the BSP has won one seat.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.