Uttar Pradesh 2017

Pauri district gives two CMs in two days

Trivendra Singh Rawat   | Photo Credit: PTI

Having provided two chief ministers to key north Indian States -- Trivendra Singh Rawat in Uttarakhand and Yogi Adityanath in Uttar Pradesh -- the hill district of Pauri finds itself at the centre stage.

Adityanath, who took over as chief minister of UP on Sunday hails from village Panchur village in Pauri in Uttarakhand while Mr. Rawat who was sworn in on Saturday belongs to Khairsain village in the same district.

Both the chief ministers, who command massive three-fourth majority in their respective State Assemblies, have another similarity. They are bachelors.

Gorakhpur seat

Though representing Gorakhpur seat of UP in the Lok Sabha consecutively since 1998, Adityanath was born in 1972 in Panchur in undivided Uttar Pradesh.

Originally named Ajay Singh Bisht, Adityanath did his graduation from government college, Kotdwar, before coming to Rishikesh for post graduation where he came into contact with the chief of Gorakshpeeth Mahant Avaidyanath and became his disciple.

It is learnt that Yogi last visited his parents in Panchur village recently when he came to campaign for BJP leader Satpal Maharaj who was the contested from Chaubatakhal constituency.

Unique distinction

Yogi’s Uttarakhand counterpart Rawat on the other hand belongs to Khairsain village of Pauri, a district, which also enjoys the unique distinction of having given the maximum number of chief ministers to the hill State after it was formed.

Uttarakhand has seen nine CMs in the 16 years, of which four hail from Pauri district including Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Vijay Bahuguna and now Trivendra Singh Rawat.

Significantly, the Army Chief General Bipin Rawat, National Security Advisor Ajit Doval and RAW head Anil Dhasmana also hail from the Pauri district.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 25, 2022 2:22:56 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/uttar-pradesh-2017/pauri-district-gives-two-cms-in-two-days/article17533395.ece

Next Story