Tamil Nadu 2016

Women voters in Tamil Nadu make history

A total of 11.95 lakh women cast their vote in Chennai. — Photo: M. Vedhan  

For the first time in the electoral history of the State, more women have cast their votes than men in the Assembly polls held on Monday, even as the overall polling percentage in 232 constituencies across the State touched 74.26.

According to the official figures released by the Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday, a total of 4.28 crore of 5.79-crore electorate exercised their franchise on Monday. Of those who voted, a total of 2,16,28,807 were women and 2,12,44,129 were men and 738 were from the third gender.

Voters No. of votes
Women 21,628,807
Men 21,244,129
Third gender 738

Over 10 lakh women cast their vote in Kancheepuram (12.41 lakh), Chennai (11.95 lakh), Vellore (11.81 lakh), Tiruvallur (11.19 lakh), Salem (11.02 lakh), Villupuram (10.54 lakh) districts. It is also to be noted that this is the first time that more women had filed nominations for the Assembly polls in the State. A total of 327 women were in the final fray.

District-wise percentage

Dharmapuri (85.03 per cent), Ariyalur (83.77 per cent) and Karur (83.09 per cent) were the top three districts, which registered highest polling percentage. Tiruvannamalai (82.99 per cent), Namakkal (82.10 per cent) and Salem (80.09 per cent) also scored above 80 per cent. Dindigul (79.62 per cent), Perambalur (79.54 per cent), Villupuram (79.44 per cent) and Erode (79.39 per cent) districts were followed by Cuddalore (78.64 per cent), Krishnagiri (78.38 per cent), Tiruvarur (78.04 per cent) and Thanjavur (77.44 per cent) districts. Vellore (77.24 per cent), Pudukkottai (77.07 per cent), Virudhunagar (76.36 per cent), Nagappattinam (76.05 per cent), Tiruchi (75.77 per cent), Theni (75.29 per cent), Tirupur (72.68 per cent), Tirunelveli (71.94 per cent), Thoothukkudi (71.17 per cent), Tiruvallur (71.20 per cent), Madurai (71.09 per cent) and the Nilgris (70.53 per cent) districts registered above 70 per cent.

The six districts which are at the bottom of the list were Sivaganga (69.80 per cent), Kancheepuram (68.77 per cent), Coimbatore (68.13 per cent), Ramanathapuram (67.78 per cent), Kanniyakumari (66.32 per cent) and Chennai (60.99 per cent).

The EC on Tuesday also directed for a re-polling in one booth within Tenkasi constituency where the electronic voting machine was used without cancelling the votes cast during mock poll. The polling would be held between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. in booth 56 at Arulmigu Ponnambalam Middle School in Tenkasi. The results of all 232 constituencies are scheduled to be declared on May 19.

The results for Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies which go to polls on May 23 would be announced on May 25.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 11:33:16 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/tamilnadu2016/women-voters-in-tamil-nadu-make-history/article8613274.ece

Next Story