Tamil Nadu Assembly polls | Where the sun rose and leaves faded

An overview of the 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly election results.

May 04, 2021 01:24 pm | Updated November 27, 2021 04:09 pm IST

The DMK alliance swept the northern and delta regions and also performed well in the south, while the AIADMK managed to retain seats in its stronghold of western Tamil Nadu with considerable success.


Constituency-wise results of 2016 and 2021 Assembly elections

Constituency-wise map of Tamil Nadu showing the seat share in 2016 Assembly elections.

Constituency-wise map of Tamil Nadu showing the seat share in 2016 Assembly elections.


Constituency-wise map of Tamil Nadu showing the seat share in 2021 Assembly elections.

Constituency-wise map of Tamil Nadu showing the seat share in 2021 Assembly elections.


Tamil Nadu seat share


Poor representation of women

This year saw the lowest representation of women since since 2001.

While 376 women were in the fray, 12 have been elected.

6 from DMK

3 from AIADMK

2 from BJP

1 from Congress


The table shows the performance of key parties in 2021 and 2016

In 2021

PartyContestedWonTotal Vote Share (%)Contested Vote Share (%)
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam18813337.746.45
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam1916633.2940.48
Indian National Congress25184.2741.36
Pattali Makkal Katchi2353.837.61
Bharatiya Janata Party2042.6234.26
Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi640.9942.44
Communist Party of India (Marxist)620.8535.17
Communist Party of India621.0943.28
Naam Tamilar Katchi2346.586.58
Makkal Needhi Maiam1802.623.43
Amma Makkal Munnettra Kazagam1652.353.33
Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam600.431.68


In 2016

PartyContestedWonTotal Vote Share (%)Contested Vote Share (%)
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam1808931.6441.35
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam23413640.7740.77
Indian National Congress4186.4236.74
Pattali Makkal Katchi2325.325.41
Bharatiya Janata Party1882.843.57
Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi250.776.98
Communist Party of India (Marxist)250.716.8
Communist Party of India250.797.25
Naam Tamilar Katchi2311.061.08
Makkal Needhi Maiam--  
Amma Makkal Munnettra Kazagam--  
Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam1042.395.42

The table shows the constituencies that flipped and the ones that were retained by both the major alliances

Retained by AIADMK+37123355
Flipped from DMK+ to AIADMK+156820
Retained by DMK+153920478
Flipped from AIADMK+ to DMK+2227201281


District-wise breakdown of winners









CoimbatoreThe NilgirisTiruppurErodeNamakkalSalemDharmapuriKrishnagiri22001144223311000000000011001100000000000000000000000000000000001100000000000000333388224455119900000000110000110022220000000000


Margins widen

The victory margins widened in the 2021 election compared to 2016

< 1000816
1000 to 50003137
5000 to 100003044
10000 to 200005174
20000 to 500008959
> 50000253


25,151 average winning margin for parties in DMK alliance in 2021.

18,044 average winning margin for parties in AIADMK alliance.

I. Periyasamy of DMK won Athoor with the widest margin of 1,35,571 votes.

J. Karunanithi of DMK won T. Nagar with the narrowest margin of 137 votes.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.