Puducherry Assembly Elections 2016

Congress-DMK alliance storms to power in Puducherry

The Congress-DMK alliance is all set to form a government in Puducherry providing a silver lining in an otherwise gloomy scenario for the Congress.

The Congress, which emerged as the single largest party, won 15 seats and its ally, the DMK two, to ensure a comfortable majority in the 30-seat Puducherry Assembly.

The AINRC won 8 seats, including Indira Nagar represented by incumbent Chief Minister N. Rangasamy, and the AIADMK four seats, while one seat went to an Independent.

Among the winning Congress candidates were former Chief Minister V. Vaithilingam, Puducherry PCC president A. Namassivayam and senior leader K. Lakshminarayanan.

AINRC heavyweights who lost included MInisters P. Rajavelu and N.G. Pannirselvam and Speaker V. Sabapathy, while AIADMK's campaign spearhead P. Kannan lost in the Raj Bhavan constituency.

After a long hiatus, four women including one each from the Congress and the DMK and two from the AINRC will make it to the Assembly.

The Puducherry PCC is expected to consult the Congress High Command to firm up its Chief Miinisterial nominee shortly.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 7, 2021 3:03:43 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/puducherry2016/puducherry-assembly-elections-results-2016-congressdmk-alliance-set-to-gain-power-in-puducherry/article8620642.ece

Next Story