Puducherry Assembly Elections 2016

Puducherry Assembly elections: Big hits and misses

Opinion and exit polls suggest it is a tight race between the ruling AINRC led by Chief Minister N. Rangasamy and the Congress led by A. Namassivayam, a relative of Mr. Rangasamy.

Counting for 23 assembly segments in two counting centres in Puducherry to commence at 8 am.

The biggest and smallest victory margins

A. Johnkumar (INC);
Margin: 12,141 M.O.H.F. Shahjahan (INC);
Margin: 634 Candassamy M. (INC);
Embalam (SC);
Margin; 11,200 T.P.R. Selvame (AINRC);
Margin; 419 Malladi Krishna Rao (INC);
Margin: 8,754 K.A.U. Asana (AIADMK);
Karaikal South;
Margin: 20

Biggest victories

Smallest victories

Key candidates

AINRC's N. Rangasamy has won from Indira Nagar by a margin of 3,404 votes .

Independent candidate Ramachandran wins Mahe by a margin of 2,139 votes beating E. Valsaraj.

AINRC founder and Chief Minister N. Rangasamy wins from Indira Nagar.

Tourism Minister Rajavelu loses to V. Vizeavany in Nettapakkam.

V. Vaithilingam of Congress has won from Kamaraj Nagar constituency .

AIADMK's P. Kannan loses to K. Lakshminarayanan of Congress from Raj Bhavan.

PCC President A Namassivayam wins in Villianur, defeating nearest AINRC rival Theni C Jayakumar.

V. Sabapathy Kothandaraman of AINRC loses to Congress' T. Djeamourthy from Ariankuppam.

DMK candidate R. Siva wins from Orleanpet Constituency.

In Karaikal South DMK's A.M.H. Nazeem lost to AIADMK's K.A.U. Asana by a slender margin of 20 votes.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 8, 2021 5:58:54 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/puducherry2016/puducherry-assembly-elections-big-hits-and-misses/article8619893.ece

Next Story