Mizoram 2018

Who is Zoramthanga, the newly elected CM of Mizoram

Mizo National Front (MNF) leader Zoramthanga was on Saturday sworn in as Mizoram’s new Chief Minister.   | Photo Credit: Ritu Raj Konwar

Mizo National Front (MNF) president Zoramthanga was sworn in as Chief Minister of Mizoram on Saturday. His party won 26 of the 40 seats in the recently concluded State Assembly elections.

The 74-year-old Zoramthanga was the Chief Minister for two terms, between 1998 and 2008. Congress won the State elections in 2008 and 2013. 

Mr. Zoramthanga graduated from D.M. College in Manipur in the 1960s, before joining the MNF underground movement. It was on March 1, 1966 that the then MNF leader Laldenga had declared independence from the Indian Union.

By the end of the 1960s, he was appointed secretary to Laldenga. He also travelled with the party chief to Pakistan and Europe during that time. Mr. Zoramthanga's played a key role in the peace talks with the Indian government. 

Following the peace accord was signed between MNF and the then government of India on June 30, 1986, Zoramthanga was inducted as a minister in the interim government headed by Laldenga for six months. He held the portfolios of Education and Finance after being elected in 1987 Assembly elections. He was contesting from Champai, his home turf. 

Mr. Zoramthanga's turn to lead came when the party faced a setback with its leader Laldenga passing away due to lung cancer on July 7, 1990. Mr. Zoramthanga continues to hold the post of party chief. He became the Leader of the Opposition in the State legislature after winning from Champai for the third time in 1993. 

With MNF winning the elections in 1998, Mr. Zoramthanga then went on to become the Chief Minister for the first time. He continued to hold the position of CM in 2003 after the Assembly polls.

The party faced a setback in the 2008 elections, with MNF managing to win only three seats. Mr. Zoramthanga lost from both Champhai North and Champhai South constituencies. Congress in 2008 came to power winning 32 of the 40 Assembly seats. MNF also failed to shine in 2013, with Congress winning 34 seats.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 13, 2021 8:58:49 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/mizoram-assembly-elections-2018/who-is-zoramthanga-the-newly-elected-cm-of-mizoram/article25751510.ece

Next Story