Mizoram 2018

Mizoram Assembly elections 2018: After initial rounds, Congress set to lose Mizoram

Lal Thanhawla   | Photo Credit: Ritu Raj Konwar

Close to the final round of counting — up to six in some — for Mizoram’s 40 Assembly seats, the Congress is set to lose Mizoram with rival Mizo National Front (MNF) heading for a majority.

According to the State’s Information Department, the MNF won seven seats while the BJP and the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) won a seat each when the first results were out by 11:30 am.

The trends showed that the MNF was leading in 14 more seats, the ZPM in six and the ruling Congress in four.

The biggest setback was for Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who finished third in the Champhai South seat behind victor T.J. Lalnuntluanga of MNF and C. Lalremliana of ZPM. The Chief Minister was leading over ZPM president and former IPS officer Lalduhoma marginally after round 3.

In Tawi, MNF candidate R. Lalzirliana defeated his nearest ZPM rival R. Lalthatluanga. Mr Lalzirliana, a former Home Minister, quit the Congress before the Assembly election.

The other seats won by MNF are Aizawl West-II, Tuichang, Serlui, Hrangturzo, and Aizawl South-III.

One of the first results, though, went to the BJP which opened its account in Mizoram since its first election in 1993. Buddha Dhan Chakma, who was a Congress minister, won the Tuichawng seat defeating his nearest MNF rival Rasik Mohan Chakma.

The ZPM, a merger of seven regional entities, won the Aizawl South-II. Its candidate Lalchhuanthanga defeated his nearest MNF rival Denghmingthanga.

While the mood outside the MNF office was upbeat after the first rounds of counting, the Congress office wore a desolate look.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 11, 2021 3:48:41 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/mizoram-assembly-elections-2018/mizoram-assembly-elections-2018-after-initial-rounds-congress-set-to-lose-mizoram/article25716692.ece

Next Story