Conrad Sangma sworn in as Meghalaya CM

The oath and office of secrecy was administered by Meghalaya Governor Ganga Prasad.

March 06, 2018 11:02 am | Updated 07:06 pm IST - Shillong

 Conrad Sangma hands the letter of support from 34 MLAs to Meghalaya Governor Ganga Prasad.

Conrad Sangma hands the letter of support from 34 MLAs to Meghalaya Governor Ganga Prasad.

National People’s Party (NPP) chief  Conrad Kongkal Sangma was sworn in on Tuesday as the 12th Chief Minister of Meghlaya. Governor Ganga Prasad administered the oath to 11 Ministers at the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhawan.

Of the 11 Ministers, four are from the NPP, three from the United Democratic Party (UDP), two from the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) and one each from the Hill State People Democratic Party (HSPDP) and the BJP.

James Pasang Kongkal Sangma, an NPP MLA and brother of the Chief Minister, was also sworn in as a Minister. The three other NPP Ministers are Prestone Tynsong,  Snaiwbhalang Dhar  and Comingone Ymbon.

Except Mr. James Sangma, the other three were part of the Congress-led government.

From the UDP, Metbah Lygdoh, Lahkmen Rymbui and Kyrmen Shylla got berths in the Cabinet. Mr. Shylla is a first time MLA. Banteidor Lngdoh and Hamleston Dohling, the two first-time MLAs from the PDF party, were also sworn in.

Alexander L Hek, leader of two member-led BJP legislature party in Meghalaya, was inducted in the Council of Ministers.

Admitting that running a coalition government of different parties is a challenge, the Chief Minister said that the parties would communicate among themselves and respect each other.

“It is my duty to take everyone along,” he told journalists. The Chief Minister will be running a government with the support of legislators of five parties including his own. The NPP-led government claims the support of 34 MLAs, including an independent legislator.The Assembly strength is 60.

BJP president, Unon Home Minister present in function

BJP president Amit Shah and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh were present at the swearing-in ceremony. Chief Ministers of the BJP-led government in Assam and Manipur, Sarbananda Sonowal and N Biren Singh, also attended the ceremony and congratulated the Meghalaya Chief Minister.

“This is an important development, the Northeast is becoming Congress ''mukt''  In most of the States here, now there is either a BJP government or a government of the NDA,” Mr. Rajnath Singh said.

The BJP  leadership maintained that it had played the role of facilitator in stitching the alliance of five parties.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.