Manipur 2017

Irom Sharmila secures just 90 votes, loses to Manipur CM in Thoubal

Irom Sharmila and Ibobi Singh are contesting in the Thoubal constituency.   | Photo Credit: Ritu Raj Konwar


Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh of the Congress party won in Thoubal constituency, defeating rights activist Irom Sharmila, who got fewer than 100 votes.


The three-time Chief Minister, who had established an insurmountable lead over Ms. Sharmila of the PRJA party, won comfortably with over 15,000 votes. Leitanthem Basanta Singh of BJP came second in the votes.

Ms. Sharmila is also contesting from Khurai.

Ms. Sharmila, who came in international limelight by continuing her fast-unto-death for 16 years to demand the repeal of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, entered politics saying she wanted to become Chief Minister to repeal the AFSPA.

The 44-year-old Ms. Sharmila ended her indefinite hunger strike in August last year. She launched People’s Resurgence and Justice Alliance in October last and said she will fight elections from Thoubal as well as Khurai, from where she hails.


Source: EC

Manipur - Thoubal
Result Declared
OKRAM IBOBI SINGHIndian National Congress18649
LEITANTHEM BASANTA SINGHBharatiya Janata Party8179
LEISHANGTHEM SURESH SINGHAll India Trinamool Congress144
IROM SHARMILA CHANUPeoples Resurgence and Justice Alliance90
None of the AboveNone of the Above143
Last Updated at 12:15 On 11/03/2017 

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 9, 2021 8:23:20 AM |

Next Story