Manipur 2017

All you need to know about the Manipur Council of Ministers

Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla administers oath of office to new Chief Minister N Biren Singh during a ceremony in Imphal on Wednesday.  

N. Biren Singh was sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur in Imphal on March 15, 2017 along with eight other Ministers.

Short profiles of the nine Ministers in the Cabinet.

N. Biren Singh

New role: Biren Singh was sworn in as the Manipur CM on Wednesday.

New role: Biren Singh was sworn in as the Manipur CM on Wednesday.   | Photo Credit: PTI


Manipur Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh is a politician who has donned many hats. A graduate from Manipur University in Arts, Mr. Singh hails from Luwangsangbam Mamang Leikai, a rural area in Imphal East district and has been representing Heingang Assembly constituency in the district since 2002. The 56-year-old politician, who has been a national-level footballer, served in the central paramilitary forces and also worked as an editor of a local newspaper.


T. Biswajit Singh

Thongam Biswajit Singh became an MLA in 2012 on a Trinamool Congress ticket. In 2015, he “voluntarily” gave up his Trinamool membership formed a new party along with two other MLAs. Later they were disqualified by the Manipur Speaker. Mr. Thongam Biswajit Singh returned to the Assembly in November 2015, this time as a BJP member.

Yumnan Joykumar

Manipur’s Deputy Chief Minister Yumnan Joykumar was the DGP of the State till recently. A leader of the National People’s Party, Mr. Joykumar won from Uripok in a close contest. Mr. Joykumar is an alumnus of Delhi University and holds an MSc in Physics.

L. Jayantakumar

After serving in Manipur Judicial Service for 13 years, L. Jayantakumar took his political plunge in 2000. He served as a Minister in various capacities in the Manipur government. He quit the Congress just before the Assembly polls and won from Keishamthong by over 3,000 votes as an NPP candidate.

N. Kayisii

National People's Party leader N. Kayisii won the Tadubi seat defeating his nearest BJP rival by 1,299 votes before joining the BJP-led government.

Letpao Haokip

Letpao Haokip is among the four MLAs of the National People's Party, founded by former Lok Sabha Speaker P.A. Sangma. He won from Chandel.

Losi Dikho

Mao MLA Losi Dikho is the Naga People’s Front nominee in the Manipur Cabinet. The party has four members in the House.

Karam Shyam

Karam Shyam is the lone Lok Jan Shakti Party MLA in the Cabinet. He won from Langthabal constituency defeating the BJP candidate by over 2,300 votes.

Thounaojam Shyamkumar

Thounaojam Shyamkumar won the Andro seat on a Congress ticket and shifted allegiance to the opposite side. His expulsion from the Congress made the government formation a smooth affair for the BJP.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 27, 2022 12:28:16 PM |

Next Story