Maharashtra Assembly election results: All you need to know

Although the BJP-Shiv Sena combine has retained power in Maharashtra, the NCP and Congress too have more reasons to cheer.

Updated - December 03, 2021 07:01 am IST

Published - October 25, 2019 11:55 am IST

On cloud nine: Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis addressing the media on Thursday.

On cloud nine: Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis addressing the media on Thursday.

Even as the exit polls pointed out to a second term to the Devendra Fadnavis-led BJP government in Maharashtra, the Assembly election results came with many surprises.

The BJP-Shiv Sena combine will certainly be forming government in the western State, but the coalition won fewer seats than it did last elections. This also means the BJP will now have to accommodate the Shiv Sena in the Cabinet to ensure a  full term.

At least nine Ministers — two Cabinet Ministers and seven Ministers of State — of 37 Ministers faced defeat in the Assembly elections. Many turncoats were also rejected.

The Nationalist Congress Party chief was the man of the day as counting of votes for the Assembly elections progressed on Thursday. Proving all exit polls wrong, by the end of the day Mr. Pawar emerged as a leader who had steered the Opposition alliance past the 100-seat mark. The NCP now has upper hand in the alliance with Congress.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.