Watch | Four-cornered battle for Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency

Watch | Four-cornered battle for Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency
| Video Credit: Dipesh 

Amritsar has a keen four-cornered contest between Congress, AAP, Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP

Updated - May 30, 2024 09:11 pm IST

Published - May 30, 2024 08:32 pm IST

In 20 elections held in this seat, Congress has won 13 times. Out of these 13 times, Raghunandan Lal Bhatia, won it six times. Congress has fielded the incumbent MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla, while AAP has fielded minister Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal.

Akali Dal is contesting the seat for the first time as this seat used to fall always in BJP’s kitty, when the two were in alliance. They have fielded Anil Joshi, who is the only Hindu candidate among other Jat Sikhs.

BJP meanwhile has fielded former U.S. ambassador Taranjit Singh Sandhu. The saffron party has had a checkered history with the seat. In 1967 Bharatiya Jan Sangh, BJP’s precursor, won this seat for the first time. BJP has won this seat only four times, three of which were won by Navjot Singh Sidhu - 2004, 2007 (bypoll) and 2009. In the last two elections BJP has had to face humiliating defeats.

In 2014 Congress’ Captain Amrinder Singh defeated Arun Jaitely by over one lakh votes and in 2019 Hardeep Puri was defeated by 99626 votes.

To discuss Amritsar’s prospects, we are joined by The Hindu’s Sandeep Phukan.

Also Read:In the multi-cornered fight in Punjab, AAP faces critical test, Akali Dal fights to regain relevance, and Congress hopes to improve its tally

Host: Sobhana K. Nair

Production: Nikitha Rajeesh, Madhumitha R

Video: Dipesh

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.