Lok Sabha Election

Lok Sabha elections 2019 phase 6 in numbers

Polling officials apply label to an EVM before transporting it to a polling station ahead of the phase VI of the Lok Sabha elections, in Agartala on May 11, 2019.   | Photo Credit: Abhisek Saha

In phase 6 of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 to be held on May 12, a total of 59 parliamentary seats are going to the polls.

Voting will take place in seven States across the country.

Some of the key candidates who are in the fray in this phase are Maneka Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav, Atishi, Gautam Gambhir, Sadhvi Pragya and Digvijaya Singh.

The following are the State-wise voting in phase 6

>> 8 seats in Bihar. This is the sixth phase of polling in the State

>> 7 seats in Delhi goes to polls in a single phase.

>> 10 seats in Haryana goes to polls in a single phase.

>> 4 seats in Jharkhand. The State already went to polls on April 29 and May 6. Jharkhand will also witness polling on May 19.

>> 8 seats in Madhya Pradesh. This is the third phase of polling in the State, after the April 29 and May 6 phases. It will also participate in the last phase polling on May 19.

>> 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The largest State will participate in all 7 phases, starting from April 11.

>> 8 seats in West Bengal. West Bengal witnessed will also see 7-phase polling.

1,13,167 polling stations

979 candidates

223 candidates in Haryana alone

3281 third-gender voters across seven States.

Another 59 constituencies across eight States will go to polls in the last phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 19, 2019.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 17, 2021 5:52:54 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/lok-sabha-2019/lok-sabha-elections-2019-phase-6-in-numbers/article27103527.ece

Next Story