Election results 2019 reactions | 'India wins yet again', tweets Narendra Modi

Reactions from Indian political leaders on the NDA's overwhelming majority

May 23, 2019 02:24 pm | Updated 08:49 pm IST

Narendra Modi is garlanded by senior party leaders in New Delhi, May 23, 2019

Narendra Modi is garlanded by senior party leaders in New Delhi, May 23, 2019

By the afternoon on May 23, when it became clear that the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) would retain power at the Centre, reactions came in from across party lines and celebrities congratulating PM Narendra Modi and his party. Here is a selection: 

Shortly after half past two in the afternoon, Narendra Modi tweeted that it was a "win for India".

"सबका साथ + सबका विकास + सबका विश्वास = विजयी भारत

Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again! VijayiBharat"


West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee tweeted around 1 p.m. when her party was leading.

"Congratulations to the winners. But all losers are not losers. We have to do a complete review and then we will share our views with you all. Let the counting process be completed fully and the VVPATs matched."

Former Jammu and Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah credited the Modi-Shah duo for a "professional campaign".

"So the exit polls were correct. All that’s left is to congratulate the BJP & NDA for a stellar performance. Credit where credit is due PM Modi Sahib & Mr Amit Shah put together a winning alliance & a very professional campaign. Bring on the next five years," he tweeted.

External Affairs Minister, tweeting in Hindi, thanked voters for giving the BJP a great victory:

"You made it", tweeted actor Rajinikanth to Narendra Modi:

"Respected dear @narendramodi ji hearty congratulations ... You made it !!! God bless."

Veteran BJP leader LK Advani, in a statement, congratulated Mr. Modi for an "unprecedented victory".

“Heartiest congratulations to Shri Narendrabhai Modi for steering the BJP towards this unprecedented victory in the elections. Shri Amitbhai Shah as the BJP President and all the dedicated workers of the party have put in enormous effort in making sure that the message of BJP reaches every voter of the country,”

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari tweeted that the BJP has made history under the successful leadership of Modi and Amit Shah.


Mehbooba Mufti , president of the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, said it was time for the "Congress to get an Amit Shah".

"Congratulations to Narendra Modi ji for a historic mandate. Today surely belongs to BJP and it’s allies. Time for Congress to get an Amit Shah,"she tweeted.

Former Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje tweeted: "This historic mandate narendramodi is a triumph of Sri Ji's dedication and the efforts made by the central government to live up to the promises. It ModiSarkaar is a seal of success on the glorious 5 years of the public decision that reaffirms India's bright future."

Actor Prakash Raj , who was campaigning for the Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi, in a tweet called the verdict a "slap on my face":


BJP leader Subramanian Swamy tweeted that his party was lucky to get away with an "incompetent macro economic performance."

"I am happy that I was right that economy is not an overpowering factor if Hindutva and anti corruption are the campaign issues. So we escaped incompetent macro economic performance. But if economy collapses then it will become an issue."

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot Thursday said the people’s mandate has to be accepted.

“We accept the people’s mandate with humility. The Congress has always worked to build a strong democracy. I thank the people of the State and Congress workers for a peaceful participation in polling."

Anand Mahindra , chairman of the Mahindra Group, tweeted: "As I watch the counting,I get the unmistakeable feeling that a turning point in history is unfolding before my eyes. 2 new power blocs are overthrowing the establishment. Not talking about political parties but Women & Young,new voters. Increasingly, they will shape India’s future."

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said there was a strong pro-incumbency:

“I had been maintaining from the beginning that the NDA will win with a comfortable majority. I had also said that in Haryana we will sweep. It is a big victory for us. This shows that there is a strong pro-incumbency. The credit for this victory goes to our Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah and pro-people policies of the government.”

The CPI (M) , in a statement, said it was time to introspect. "The CPI(M) has suffered a serious setback in this election. We shall introspect the reasons for this and draw proper lessons for the future. There are very big challenges ahead regarding the defence of our secular, democratic republic, the institutions of constitutional authority, people’s rights and livelihood issues.”


Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.