BJP, NC win 3 seats each in J&K

In Udhampur, Union Minister Jitendra Singh registers a landslide victory

May 23, 2019 11:03 pm | Updated 11:03 pm IST - Srinagar

Exchanging views:  PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti and NC leader Omar Abdullah in Srinagar.

Exchanging views: PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti and NC leader Omar Abdullah in Srinagar.

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday retained all the three seats won by it in the 2014 election in Jammu and Kashmir, while the National Conference swept all the three seats represented by the Peoples Democratic Party in the Kashmir Valley.

In Udhampur, Union Minister and BJP candidate Jitendra Singh registered a landslide victory over National Conference-Congress joint candidate Vikramaditya Singh.

Dr. Jitendra Singh bagged 7.1 lakh votes compared to Mr. Vikramaditya Singh’s 3.65 lakh.

“Such a huge mandate comes with a responsibility to deliver better in the coming five years,” said Dr. Jitendra Singh, after winning the seat.

Winning a second term, BJP’s Jugal Kishore Sharma, with 8.3 lakh votes, defeated NC-Congress candidate Raman Bhalla, who got 5.46 lakh votes.

Compared to the wafer thin victory margin of 36 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha poll, BJP’s Ladakh candidate, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, got 38,338 votes against the 29,004 of Independent candidate Sajjad Hussain.

Farooq wins again

NC patron and three-time Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah won the Srinagar seat with a margin of 70,000 votes. “This is the beginning of the struggle in Kashmir. We have to work hard for the coming Assembly polls,” said Dr. Abdullah.

Mehbooba loses

Former Chief Minister and and PDP president Mehbooba Mufti was defeated by NC’s Hasnain Masoodi, who bagged 40,032 votes in the militancy-affected constituency of Anantnag. Ms. Mufti emerged number three, as Congress candidate G.A. Mir bagged 32,879 votes and the former Chief Minister got 30,223 votes.

“I have been fortunate to get the love and affection of my people. They have every right to express their anger at my failings. Accept their verdict with humility. Congratulations to the winning candidates from NC,” said Ms. Mufti.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.