Lok Sabha Election

Interactive: Know your MP

File photo of the Parliament building in New Delhi  

With a strength of 303, the BJP is all set to have the highest number of MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha, with alliance partners adding 50 more seats to the NDA's kitty. The party to come closest is the Congress (52). Like 2014, there will be no Leader of the Opposition in the House this time either the requirement for that is that the largest Opposition party should have won at least 10% of the seats (55). All the MPs will be sworn in on Thursday.

Of the 542 elected MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha, the BJP's Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur perhaps has the most interesting profession according to her affidavit to the Election Commission she is a "beggar" (Bhikshatan).

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi has listed his occupation as "public life and political activity," Amit Shah has listed his professions as social work and agriculture. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi has listed his profession as Member of Parliament.

According to an analysis by PRS Legislative Research, 39% of MPs have listed their profession as political and social work. The second most common profession listed was agriculture, while 23% were involved in business.

The following interactive gives an overview of the 17th Lok Sabha. Each circle represents an MP. You can zoom the visualisation to get a closer view. Use the Group by option to group the circles according to a parameter. For example, if you would like to see how many MPs are graduates, just select group by education. Similarly, you can colour the circles according to a parameter by using the Shade by option, size them or compare them with the other two dropdowns.


In terms of educational qualifications, about 67% of MPs are graduates or postgraduates, while 4% are doctorates. About 11% have studied up to Class 10 or lower.

As many as 20 MPs have net assets of over ₹100 crore. The top three MPs with the highest net assets are all from the Congress. Nakul Nath, who won from Chhindwara constituency in Madhya Pradesh, has net assets worth over ₹660 crore. D.K. Suresh, from Bangalore Rural constituency has net assets of ₹286 crore, while Vasanthakumar H who won from Kanniyakumari has net assets of ₹262 crore.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 29, 2022 5:06:36 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/lok-sabha-2019/analysis-of-mps-in-the-17th-lok-sabha/article27282760.ece

Next Story