Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

No favourites for the nascent seat

A three-pronged fight is all set to be staged in the Kattakada Assembly constituency, which has shown a tendency to sway favours between the Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the United Democratic Front (UDF) in previous elections amid a growing space for the National Democratic Alliance in the recent times.

In the 2016 Assembly elections, I.B. Satheesh of the LDF scored a huge upset when he edged out N. Sakthan of the UDF by a slender margin of 849 votes in the constituency.

Mr. Satheesh, former Students’ Federation of India (SFI) leader, was up against Mr. Sakthan, sitting Congress MLA and Assembly Speaker, in the second elections after the constituency came into being post delimitation. Mr. Satheesh polled 51,614 votes against Mr. Sakthan’s 50,765 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had fielded P.K. Krishnadas for the second time, improved its performance from the previous elections. Its vote share went up from 22,550 votes in 2011 to 38,700 in 2016.

Development initiative

Hoping to retain the seat this time, the LDF has again backed Mr. Satheesh, district committee member of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and district executive member of the Kerala Karshaka Sangham. The LDF is hoping that development initiatives with people’s participation such as the Jalasamruddhi project that have brought the constituency much fame will propel it to a comfortable victory.

The UDF has fielded Malayinkeezh Venugopal, who has won seats for the party in the district panchayat and the Nemom block panchayat.

Mr. Krishnadas, BJP national executive member and former party State president, is contesting from the constituency for the third time on the trot. The party hopes to make further inroads into the constituency, which has been mainly carved out of the Nemom and the erstwhile Aryanad constituencies.

Today, the constituency comprises Kattakada, Malayinkeezhu, Maranalloor, Pallichal, Vilappil, and Vilavoorkal grama panchayats in Neyyattinkara taluk.

Having stood once with the UDF and then the LDF, it will be difficult to predict which way the constituency will sway this time.

Trend changes

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Adoor Prakash of the UDF secured 51,962 votes against 45,822 votes garnered by A. Sampath of the LDF in the constituency.

In the 2020 local body elections, LDF had the upper hand in four of the six panchayats.

The constituency has 1,91,499 voters – 91,740 male, 99,755 female, and four from the transgender community. Nair and Nadar votes will be key to determining victory in the segment, where agriculture is an important economic activity.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 8:15:27 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
You are reading
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story