Kerala Assembly elections 2021: Constituency Watch

LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too

The Neyyattinkara Assembly constituency has kept swinging between parties, without any overwhelming favourite, for the past six decades or so. The upcoming elections will be closely watched to see if the Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the United Democratic Front (UDF) rivalry throws up a tight contest here, even as the increased presence of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) heightens expectations of a three-cornered fight.

Few can forget the dramatic events that unfolded here in the early years of the past decade when MLA R. Selvaraj of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) resigned in March 2012, sending shock waves through the political establishment.

Mr. Selvaraj, Parassala MLA, wanted to contest from there itself in the 2011 Assembly polls, but was shifted to Neyyattinkara against his wish. He defeated by a comfortable margin of 6,702 votes Congress strongman Thampanoor Ravi, who had won from here three consecutive times in 1991, 1996, and 2001.

The controversy

However, following turmoil within the CPI(M), Mr. Selvaraj resigned, alleging factionalism and being made a target by a section of the district leadership. He crossed over to the Congress, and fought the 2012 byelection where he was pitted against F. Lawrence of the LDF and O. Rajagopal of the BJP. Mr. Selvaraj secured 52,528 votes against 46,194 votes bagged by Mr. Lawrence. Mr. Rajagopal put up a strong show, increasing his party’s tally in the constituency by over four-fold as compared to the 2011 Assembly elections by securing 30,507 votes. Mr. Selvaraj’s win also upped the UDF’s slender majority in the 140-member Assembly to 73.

In the 2016 Assembly elections, Mr. Selvaraj could not make it a hat trick and had to concede to K. Ansalan of the LDF who won by 9,543 votes. It was sweet revenge for the LDF, still hurting from the 2012 loss at the hands of its former MLA. The NDA’s Punchakkari Surendran polled 15,531 votes.

First winner

In the first elections held in 1957, R. Janardhanan Nair of the undivided Communist Party of India won from Neyyattinkara. In 1960, P. Narayanan Thampi of the Praja Socialist Party emerged victorious. Five years later, G. Chandrasekhara Pillai secured a win for the Congress from here. In 1967, the Congress retained the seat through R.G. Nair.

In 1970, R. Parameswaran Pillai of the CPI(M) defeated former MLA R. Janardhanan Nair of the CPI to reach the Assembly. In both 1977 and 1980, R. Sundaresan Nair, an Independent, defeated Mr. Parameswaran Pillai here. In 1982, S.R. Thankaraj claimed the segment for the Janata Party, winning against Mr. Sundaresan Nair of the National Democratic Party. Five years later, he retained the seat defeating K.C. Thankaraj of the Congress.


Thampanoor Ravi won the next three Assembly elections here; in 1991, 1996, and 2001. In 1991, he won against S.R. Thankaraj, in 1996 against Charupara Ravi of the Janata Dal, and in 2001 against S.B. Rosechandran of the Janata Dal (Secular). In 2006, V.J. Thankappan of the CPI wrested the seat from the Congress by defeating Mr. Ravi by a slender margin of 746 votes. But the constituency swerved the Left way in 2011 when Mr. Selvaraj won against Mr. Ravi.

There are a total of 1,83,295 voters in the constituency – 89,039 males, 94,254 females, and two from the transgender community – as per the voter list on January 20. After the delimitation exercise a few years ago, the constituency comprises the Neyyattinkara municipality, and Athiyannoor, Chenkal, Karode, Kulathoor, and Thirupuram panchayats.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2021 7:28:39 AM |

In This Series
Close contest on the cards in Chirayinkeezhu
Kerala Assembly elections | Development, drinking water make it a do-or-die battle for the Attingal seat
It’s quite a prestige issue to win Wadakkanchery
Kerala Assembly Elections | Triangular contest in Muvattupuzha
Kerala Assembly Elections | Perumbavoor gears up for a tough poll battle
Kerala Assembly polls | Line-up, campaign themes hog the limelight
Kerala Assembly polls | Fronts tread Pathanamthitta terrain with care
Kerala Assembly Elections | From IT infra to protection of faith, Kazhakuttam covers all
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Deal’ allegation hangs over Chengannur electioneering
Kerala Assembly Elections | Former allies in a pulsating face-off in Kaduthuruthy
Kerala Assembly Elections | ‘Loyalty’ factor may come into play in Idukki
Kerala Assembly Elections | A three-way, neck-and-neck tussle in Thrissur
Kerala Assembly Elections | A secure red fortress shows signs of faltering
LDF senses a chance for victory in Kalamassery
Interesting poll battle in Perambra
Battle of prestige in Kunnamangalam
Not a cakewalk for the prime contenders
IT land hosts a fierce fight
No easy choice in Kanjirappally
Catapulted to the spotlight by a candidate
A straight fight on the cards in Angamaly
No favourites for the nascent seat
Battle for Koduvally hots up
Kerala Assembly Elections | Congress banks yet again on Satheesan in Paravur
Battle of images in Thripunithura
No surprise candidates in Cong. list for Ernakulam
Church row a key factor in Kothamangalam
Battle lines drawn in Kottayam and Pathanamthitta
No political front is expecting a cakewalk this time
LDF seeks to cash in on UDF woes
Kerala Assembly polls | Tightrope walk for the Congress
Kerala Assembly Elections | Infighting, factional feud, personality politics plague Congress, CPI(M) and BJP
A ‘red fort’ that shows chances of colour change
Discontent in IUML against Majeed in Tirurangadi
Fronts swear by development plans to woo voters
Kerala Assembly Elections | A Left citadel that has favoured Congress too
You are reading
LDF, UDF hopeful in Neyyattinkara, cautious too
Veteran and newcomer in fight for coastal seat
It’s Mani legacy vs Mani namesake in Pala
Kozhikode South: no unwavering loyalty here
In Azhikode, there’s always room for surprise
Parties hope to sway voters with development plank
Clear picture on Vadakara candidates yet to emerge
An impenetrable fortress of the Left so far
Shifting loyalties leave parties confused
In traditional LDF bastion, UDF hopes to break ground
LDF, UDF tussle for Cherthala as NDA keeps hopes
Parassala constituency: an oscillating segment
An even game in Perumbavoor
Rahul’s base Wayanad a status symbol for UDF
Nadapuram voters may have a déjà vu
A few challenges for the Left in its bastion
Kovalam has no extreme loyalty
Kunnathur has mostly leaned towards the Left
Wadakkanchery, a prestige issue for fronts
Rubber heartland presents a hotbed of possibilities
Attingal - a Left citadel with laurels equally shared
In Ernakulam, a test of political theories
A UDF bastion that went the LDF way last time
Vallikkunnu, an IUML bastion by default
Will the CPI(M) continue its winning streak in Koyilandy?
When Kuttiyadi constituency witnessed a break from the past
Equations could see a change in Kasaragod
In Thiruvambady, small margins are the big concern
When UDF lost its upper hand in Mananthavady
Vadakara, a socialist bastion with Marxist vote base
Aluva remains a traditional Congress citadel
Kondotty, an IUML fortress that is hard to breach
Shifting loyalties with a tilt towards Congress
Twists and turns of Alappuzha’s poll graph
In Muvattupuzha, unpredictable shifts in voting patterns
Where polls are special for many reasons
Next Story