Karnataka election results 2023 | BJP leads in 11 out of 13 constituencies of DK-Udupi twin districts

Congress leads in two constituencies of these districts

May 13, 2023 01:12 pm | Updated 02:00 pm IST - MANGALURU

Counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly polls underway on May 13, 2023.

Counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly polls underway on May 13, 2023. | Photo Credit: PTI

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was able to maintain the lead in its stronghold — the twin districts of Dakshina Kannada and Udupi — in coastal Karnataka with its candidates leading in 11 out of 13 constituencies.

ALSO READ | Karnataka election results live

BJP was leading in Mangaluru City North and South, Moodbidri, Belthangady, Bantwal and Sullia in Dakshina Kannada, Byndoor, Kundapura, Udupi, Kaup and Karkala in Udupi district. Congress was leading in Mangaluru (Ullal) and Puttur, both in Dakshina Kannada.

Ashok Kumar Rai from the Congress was leading in Puttur, that could have been the lead for the BJP, by a small margin against the BJP rebel, independent candidate Arun Kumar Puthila. While Mr. Rai polled 52,255 votes at the end of the 13th round, Mr. Puthila polled 51,999 votes while the BJP candidate Asha Thimmappa was pushed to the third position by polling 31,304 votes.

Another key constituency, Bantwal, where former minister B. Ramanath Rai of the Congress is testing his fortunes for the 9th time, the Congress candidate is trailing by about 7,000 votes against the BJP candidate. While Mr. Rai has polled 51,210 votes, incumbent Rajesh Naik has polled 58,283 votes at the end of the 11th round.

Minister V. Sunil Kumar of the BJP has maintained a lead of about 2,000 votes in Karkala against Muniyalu Uday Shetty of the Congress at the end of the 14th round by polling 70,710 votes as against 67,458 votes secured by Mr. Shetty.

Incumbent U.T. Khader of the Congress was leading in Mangaluru (Ullal) by polling 51,372 votes against the BJP candidate Satish Kumpala who polled 32,181 votes. Mr. Khader was the Minister for Health in the Siddaramaiah government and was the Deputy Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Assembly.

In Moodbidri, incumbent Umanath Kotian was leading by polling 51,212 votes against Mithun Rai of the Congress who secured 36,616 votes in while in Belthangady, incumbent Harish Poonja has polled 92,127 votes against Rakshith Shivaram of the Congress, who has polled 75,737 votes at the end of the 16th round.

Bhagirathi Marulya of the BJP was leading in Sullia (SC) by polling 73,598 votes against G. Krishnappa of the Congress, who polled 49,264 votes at the end of the 13th round. BJP had denied ticket to incumbent and Minister S. Angara, who had represented Sullia six times.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.