Karnataka Assembly elections 2018: Siddaramaiah gets to contest from only one seat

Congress announces its list of 218 candidates.

April 15, 2018 11:44 pm | Updated April 16, 2018 02:41 pm IST - Bengaluru

Siddaramaiah wanted to contest from Badami too.

Siddaramaiah wanted to contest from Badami too.

After intense discussions for three days in New Delhi, the Congress on Sunday announced its candidates for 218 of the 224 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will contest from one seat only — Chamundeshwari in Mysuru. He is going to face a stiff challenge here from G.T. Deve Gowda of the Janata Dal (S). The JD(S) is making a determined bid to wrest the seat from the Congress.

Mr. Siddaramaiah’s request to contest from Badami in Bagalkot district was shot down by the party's central leadership on the grounds stating that it would send a wrong message to the electorate. The Chief Minister contested from the neighbouring Varuna in 2013.

State Congress president G. Parameshwara will contest from Koratagere in Tumakuru, while Chief Minister’s son Yathindra will contest from Varuna.

All seven ex-JD(S) MLAs, who joined the Congress last month, as well as MLAs from other parties who switched sides — Anand Singh, B. Nagendra, Ashok Kheny and B.R. Patil, Satish Sail, Mankala Subba Vaidya — have been given ticket.

Senior Congress leaders in the list include Ministers Kagodu Thimmappa, D.K. Shivakumar, Ramalinga Reddy, K.J. George, M.B. Patil, Roshan Baig, H.C. Mahadevappa, H.K. Patil, U.T. Khader, Umashree, B. Ramanath Rai, T.B. Jayachandra, R.V. Deshpande, K.R. Ramesh Kumar, H.M. Revanna, Krishna Byre Gowda, Priyank Kharge; Speaker K.B. Koliwad; former Minister M.H. Ambareesh; and Congress working presidents Dinesh Gundu Rao and S.R. Patil.

Shantinagar pending

Curiously, the candidate for the Shantinagar constituency has not yet been announced. The constituency is now represented by N.A. Haris, whose son Mohammed Nalapad Haris was recently involved in a brawl at a cafe in Bengaluru.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.