Karnataka 2018

JD(S) breaks into Congress bastion in Mysuru district

Mysuru Karnataka: 15-05-2018: Mysuru Karnataka: 15-05-2018: Anil Chikkamadu of the Congress who won from H.D Kote. PHOTO: M_A_SRIRAM   | Photo Credit: M.A.SRIRAM

The Janata Dal (Secular) managed to break into the Congress ‘citadel’ in Mysuru district by winning five out of 11 seats, including the high-profile Chamundeshwari constituency where G.T. Deve Gowda defeated Chief Minister Siddaramaiah by a margin of 36,042 votes.

After the drab performance in 2013, the BJP put up a strong fight and wrested three seats from the Congress.

The Congress, which had won eight seats in 2013, romped home only in three seats – Narasimharaja, H.D. Kote, and Varuna.

Minister Tanveer Sait retained the Narasimharaja segment, and Mr. Siddaramaiah’s son Yathindra won his first election from Varuna seat. Anil Chikkamadu won in H.D. Kote constituency.

The Congress was defeated in T. Narsipur, Periyapatna, Hunsur, Krishnaraja and Chamaraja. Minister for Public Works H.C. Mahadevappa lost the T. Narsipur seat to Ashvin Kumar M. of the JD(S), who won by a margin of 28,478 votes.

Mr. Yathindra won the Varuna seat which his father represented for two terms, hands down.

Mahadevappa, a confidante of Mr. Siddaramaiah, polled 55,451 votes, while Mr. Ashvin emerged as a “giant killer” securing a whopping 83,929 votes. T. Narsipur is considered another big loss for the Congress after Chamundeshwari.

JD(S) wrested Periyapatna seat from K. Venkatesh of the Congress. K. Mahadev of JD(S) trounced Mr. Venkatesh by a margin of 7,424 votes.

Political rebirth for Vishwanath

Reckoned to be a “political rebirth”, former Minister and JD(S) candidate A.H. Vishwanath won from Hunsur, wresting the seat from the Congress. Two-time Congress MLA H.P. Manjunath of the Congress lost the seat by a margin of 8,575 votes.

Vasu, MLA, lost the poll to BJP’s L. Nagendra in Chamaraja constituency. Mr. Nagendra won by a margin of 14,936 votes. JD(S) candidate K.S. Rangappa came third, securing 27,284 votes. As predicted, JD(S) rebel candidate K. Harish Gowda, who contested as an independent, polled 21,282 votes. Mr. Harish Gowda turned out to be a big adversary for the JD(S), which was confident of wresting the seat from the Congress.

Sa. Ra. Mahesh of the JD(S) achieved a hat-trick by winning from K.R. Nagar seat by a slender margin of 1,779 votes. Ravishankar of the Congress gave a tough fight to Mr. Mahesh, a close confidante of H.D. Kumaraswamy.

The son-in-law of former Minister V. Sreenivas Prasad, Harshavardan, wrested the Nanjangud seat from the Congress. He defeated MLA Kalale Keshavamurthy by 12,479 votes.

The BJP also wrested the Krishnaraja seat from the Congress with its candidate and former Minister S.A. Ramdas winning the election by a margin of 26,347 votes against his nearest rival and MLA M.K. Somashekar.

Minister for Primary and Secondary Education Tanveer Sait retained the Narasimharaja seat by comfortable margin of 28,984 votes against his rival Sandesh Swamy (S. Satish) of the BJP.

In H.D. Kote, Anil Kumar C. of the Congress won against his nearest rival Chikanna by a margin of 22,093 votes.

In Chamarajanagar

In neighbouring Chamarajanagar, the Congress managed to retain only two seats out of four seats it had held previously. Puttarangashetti and R. Narendra, both from the Congress, achieved a hat-trick by winning from Chamarajanagar and Hanur seats, respectively.

Sugar Minister Geetha Mahadeva Prasad lost to Niranjan Kumar of the BJP.

Bahujan Samaj Party managed to open its account by winning from Kollegal reserved constituency. N. Mahesh wrested the seat from the Congress.

In Kodagu, both the seats have been retained by BJP leaders Apacchu Ranjan and K.G. Bopaiah.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 6, 2021 8:53:35 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/karnataka-2018/jds-breaks-into-congress-bastion-in-mysuru-district/article23895989.ece

Next Story