Himachal Pradesh 2017

Tracking Himachal’s record vote

Himachal Pradesh registered a record 74.61% polling for the Assembly elections on Thursday, breaking the 74.51% record of 2003. The percentage was 71.61 in 2007 and 73.51 in 2012.

Chief Electoral Officer Pushpendra Rajput on Friday told presspersons that the highest turnout of 81.05% was recorded in Sirmaur district and the lowest of 70.19% in Hamirpur district.

The Doon constituency in Solan district recorded the highest turnout of 88.95% and Shimla Urban recorded the lowest at 63.76%. The other districts like Chamba recorded 73.21%, Kangra 72.47%, Lahaul-Spiti 73.40%, Kullu 77.87%, Mandi 75.21%, Una 76.45%, Bilaspur 82.04%, Solan 77.44%, Shimla 72.68% and Kinnaur 75.09%.

Mr. Rajput said 37,21,647 electors cast their vote at 7,525 polling stations in the State. Out of this, 19,10,582 were women, 18,11,061 men and four third gender.

The counting of votes will take place on December 18. The Chief Electoral Office said elaborate security arrangements had been made for the safe custody of EVMs and VVPAT machines throughout the hill State. A three-tier security system had been enforced. At least 23 companies of Central paramilitary forces had been deployed for round-the-clock security. As many as 100 strong rooms had been set up at 48 locations with CCTV surveillance.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 4, 2021 9:24:08 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/himachal-pradesh-2017/tracking-himachals-record-vote/article20111858.ece

Next Story