Haryana Assembly election: Six Ministers trailing; Speaker, BJP State chief also behind opponents

Early trends come in from Election Commission

Published - October 24, 2019 01:41 pm IST - CHANDIGARH

Ram Bilas Sharma

Ram Bilas Sharma

As the ruling BJP and the Congress are engaged in a close electoral battle in the Haryana Assembly elections, as many as six Ministers in the State government were trailing, as per early result trends.

According to the Election Commission’s trends — Education Minister Ram Bilas Sharma was trailing by a margin of 3,576 votes against the Congress’s Rao Dan Singh in the Mahendergarh Assembly segment. Finance Minister Capt Abhimanyu was trailing in the Narnaund seat against Jannayak Janta Party’s Ram Kumar Gautam by a margin of 9,039 votes.

Om Parkash Dhankar, Agriculture Minister, was trailing by a margin of 3,986 votes against the Congress’s Kuldeep Vats. In the Sonipat constituency, Kavita Jain, Urban Local Bodies Minister, was trailing Surender Panwar of the Congress by 12,963 votes while another Minister Manish Kumar Grover was trailing the Congress’s Bharat Bhushan Batra in the Rohtak seat by a margin of 2,488 votes. Another Minister Krishan Lal Panwar was behind the Congress’s Balbir Singh in the Israna seat by a margin of 15,834 votes.

BJP’s Haryana State unit president Subhash Barala was also trailing in the Tohana seat by a margin of 25,090 to Jannayak Janta Party’s Devender Singh Babli. Also, Haryana Assembly Speaker Kanwar Pal, a BJP MLA from Jagadhri, was trailing the Congress’s Akram Khan by a margin of 7,915 votes, till the filing of this report.

BJP’s senior Minister and five-time MLA Anil Vij was leading in his Ambala Cantt seat by a margin of 16,105 votes over Independent candidate Chitra Sarwra. After trailing, Minister Karan Dev Kamboj in the Radaur seat has taken a lead of 2,073 votes against Bishan Lal of the Congress.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.