Analysis | Independents, JJP hold the key to power in Haryana

The Congress and the BJP are locked in a fierce electoral contest in the State

Published - October 24, 2019 12:55 pm IST - GURUGRAM:

JJP leader Dushyant Chautala interacting with media persons at Jind.

JJP leader Dushyant Chautala interacting with media persons at Jind.

With the Congress and the BJP locked in a fierce electoral contest, leading in 31 and 38 seats respectively in the 90-member Haryana Assembly, the Jannayak Janta Party, which leads in 11 seats, and six Independents could play a pivotal role in the formation of the government in the State.


Four of the six Independents — Balraj Kundu (Meham), Randhir Singh Gollen (Pundri), Gokul Setia (Sirsa) and Nayan Pal Rawat (Prithla) — are rebels of the BJP. They threw their hats into the ring after the party denied them tickets, but are unlikely to go back to the party fold. Political analysts say that the four Independents in the present political scenario would prefer to support the JJP, which has emerged as the kingmaker, and they could be accommodated better there.

When the last reports came in, Mr. Kundu was ahead of his nearest rival and Congress candidate Anand Singh Dangi by over 5,000 votes. Mr. Gollen was ahead of the BJP’s Ved Prakash by 7,473 votes. Mr. Rawat, who has strained relations with Faridabad’s MP Krishan Pal Gujjar, was leading against Congress’ Raghubir Tewatia by 4,021 votes. Mr. Setia was leading with over 2,000 votes against Haryana Lokhit Party’s Gopal Kanda, who was Minister of State for Home in Haryana in 2009 in the Congress government.

Besides the four BJP rebels, Rakesh Daulatabad was leading from Badshahpur seat in Gurugram district against the BJP’s Manish Yadav with a margin of over 11,000 votes. The BJP had denied ticket to its sitting MLA and PWD Minister Rao Narbir Singh from Badshahpur. Mr. Daultabad, a local philanthropist, had contested on the Indian National Lok Dal symbol in 2014. He contested as an Independent in 2009. He finished first runner-up both times.

Leading against Haryana Lokhit Party’s Gobind Kanda with a margin of over 14,000 votes, Independent candidate Ranjit Singh is an uncle of JJP leader and former Hisar MP Dushyant Chautala.

Former Kurukshetra MP Raj Kumar Saini, who quit the BJP to float the Loktanter Suraksha Party, is leading against the Congress’ Jagbir Malik from Gohana by over 6,000 votes. The Indian National Lok Dal also leads at two seats.

Both INLD and JJP are yet to open their cards on who they are likely to support.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.