Delhi 2020

Left candidates lose deposits in Delhi

All the 15 candidates of the seven-party Left front lost their deposits in the Delhi Assembly elections as none of them could garner even 1,000 votes.

While Rakesh Kumar of SUCI-C contesting from the Badli constituency managed to come close to the 1,000 mark securing 947 votes, CPI (M) candidate from Karawalnagar Ranjit Tiwari got only 712 votes.

Similarly Abdul Jabbar of CPI bagged 644 votes in Ballimaran, while his party colleague Sanjeev Kumar Rana could win 542 in Timarpur.

In the rest of the seats, the Left parties could not even cross the 500 votes mark.

All India Forward Bloc candidate Rakesh Sharma from Mundka managed only 52 votes while his colleague Hari Shankar Sharma secured a miniscule 49.

CPI, CPI(M), CPI—ML (Liberation), SUCI(C), Forward Bloc, RSP and Socialist Party(India) had joined hands in the polls and had extended support to each other.

In their effort to keep BJP and Congress out of power in Delhi, they had also extended support to AAP and asked their supporters to vote in favour Arvind Kejriwal-led party on all seats, barring those they were contesting.

With the AAP getting a landslide victory, the CPI (M) congratulated the people for “decisively” rejecting BJP and hoped that the new government will adopt and implement policies for the benefit of ‘aam admi’.

The CPI too welcomed the Delhi poll results, saying the people of the national capital have “thoroughly demolished the myth of invincibility of Narendra Modi and the BJP.”

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 26, 2021 8:10:57 AM |

Next Story