Delhi 2020

BJP releases first list for Delhi polls

Delhi BJP President Manoj Tiwari. File

Delhi BJP President Manoj Tiwari. File   | Photo Credit: Sushil Kumar Verma

2 rebel AAP MLAs find space in the 57 candidates list.

The BJP on Friday released its first list of 57 candidates for the Delhi Assembly polls on February 8. 

After a marathon meeting on Thursday night, the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) that includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi cleared 57 names but refrained from clearing a candidate against Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Announcing the list, State unit chief Manoj Tiwari said it had 11 Scheduled Castes candidates, and included four women. All three sitting MLAs - Vijender Gupta (Rohini), Jagdish Pradhan (Mustafabad) and OP Sharma (Vishwas Nagar) have been repeated. 

Rebel Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs have found space in the list - Kapil Mishra from Model Town and Anil Bajpai from Gandhinagar. No Muslim candidate has been announced so far.

Mr. Tiwari said another meeting of the CEC would be held soon to determine the remaining 13 candidates.

He took no questions, including about alliances with Akali Dal et al.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 24, 2020 12:14:11 PM |

Next Story