Delhi Assembly elections 2020 | Exit polls predict big win for AAP; BJP likely to gain over 2015 tally

Some indicate that Arvind Kejriwal’s party can even repeat its 2015 landslide when it won 67 seats in the 70-member House.

February 08, 2020 07:09 pm | Updated December 04, 2021 11:51 pm IST - New Delhi

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal shows his finger after casting his vote during the Assembly elections, in New Delhi on February 8, 2020.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal shows his finger after casting his vote during the Assembly elections, in New Delhi on February 8, 2020.

The ruling Aam Admi Party (AAP) is all set to return to power for another term with a big win, based on the projections of all major exit polls.

The counting of votes will take place on February 11.

A poll of polls done by NDTV showed AAP winning 56 of the 70 seats, a drop from its tally of 67 seats in 2015, while the BJP was projected to win 14 seats, a jump from the three seats won by the party in the last Assembly election.

The Congress’s bad run in the national capital was expected to continue with the poll of polls showing the party drawing a blank.


Though the range of victory margin and the number of seats varied, the exit polls were unanimous in projecting AAP winning the battle for Delhi, with the BJP coming a distant second and the Congress party failing to make a mark once again.

India Today-Axis poll gave the numbers of seats in a range, with AAP projected to do a repeat of its 2015 performance and win anywhere between 59-68 seats. The BJP’s range is between 2 and 11, as per this poll.

Delhi Elections 2020 : Live updates | Women protesters at Shaheen Bagh vote in batches to keep agitation alive | Kalitara Mandal, Delhi’s oldest voter, lived ‘twice as a refugee’

In their final exit polls that factored in the last hour of voting, ABP-C Voter put AAP in the range of 51-65 seats, BJP in the range of 3-17 seats and Congress between 0-3 seats. The Times Now-Ipsos exit poll predicted Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will retain his position with his party winning 47 seats against 23 for the BJP.


Republic TV-Jan ki Baat predicted AAP would get between 48-61 seats, the BJP winning between 9-21, while the Congress could at the most win one seat.

NewsX-Neta poll, which wasn’t included in the NDTV poll of polls, predicted AAP to win 53-57 seats while the BJP would get 11-17 seats. The TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero predicted 54 seats for the AAP, 15 for the BJP and one for the Congress.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.