Chhattisgarh 2018

Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2019: top developments

A view outside the Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh’s residence in Raipur.   | Photo Credit: The Hindu

While the BJP is seeking re-election, the Congress hopes to form a government in Chhattisgarh. Then there is former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh in the fray, making it a three-cornered fight for the first time since the State was formed 18 years ago.

Here are some top developments

1. In the Maoist-affected Bastar region, the Congress is leading in all 12 seats.

2. Incumbent Chief Minister Raman Singh is leading in Rajnandgaon by a very slim margin — 145 votes — against the Congress’ Karuna Shukla.

3. State Minister Rajesh Munat is behind Congress’ Vikas Upadhyay in Raipur City West Assembly seat.

4. State presidents of the BJP and the Congress — Dharamlal Kaushik and Bhupesh Baghel — are leading in Bilha and Patan seats respectively.

5. CPI’s Manish Kunjam is trailing by 202 votes in Konta behind Congress’ Kawasi Lakma. This constituency saw the least voting turnout in the entire State.

6. According to ECI, Congress is leading in 61 seats, BJP in 14, Janta Congress Chhattisgarh in 5 and others in 4.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 29, 2021 4:54:38 PM |

Next Story