Bihar Assembly Elections 2015

Team Rahul takes charge of Bihar rally

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi.  

After JD(U) leader and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad pulled out of Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi’s first rally in Bihar for the Assembly elections, Team Rahul has swung into action to make the meeting here on Saturday a success.

Congress sources said Team Rahul members Paresh Dhanani, an AICC secretary in charge of Bihar; K. Raju, AICC SC wing leader; Manoj Chauhan; Lal Chand Kataria; K.L. Sharma; and C.P. Joshi are working hard, along with PCC chief Ashok Chaudhury and Chandan Yadav.

Those who hope for nomination — like Dalit leader and former MP Purnamasi Ram, Vinay Verma and Vishwa Mohan Sharma — are also throwing their political might and resources into the preparations. “West Champaran has traditionally been a Congress bastion, and with Rahul Gandhi’s rally, the Congressmen are feeling rejuvenated,” Mr. Verma said.

Under the seat-sharing arrangement with the JD(U) and the RJD, the Congress has got 40 seats.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2021 5:30:26 AM |

Next Story