Bihar Assembly Elections 2015

Bihar busy with sharing of seats

With Nitish Kumar all set to take oath as Bihar’s Chief Minister for the fifth time on November 20 along with his new Cabinet, political corridors is rife with speculation about who will be chosen as Ministers. Chief Minister-designate Nitish Kumar has said that the three parties of the Grand Alliance would be part of the government.

Political activities have taken a backseat as the State is in the middle of the four-day Chhath festival (worship of sun god). But that has not stopped the leaders of the Janata Dal(U), the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress from speculating.

It is said that since the RJD got the largest number of 80 seats, the party would get 16 ministerial posts.

The JD(U) with 71 seats could get 15. Five Ministers could come from the Congress, which won 27 seats.

If party sources are to be believed, the names of those who will take oath have been finalised. There is uncertainty over the posts of Deputy Chief Minister and the Speaker. Though the name of RJD leader Lalu Prasad’s youngest son Tejaswi Yadav has been doing the rounds for the former, party sources say there was difference within the family over appointing him.

For the Speaker’s post, names of senior Congress leader Sadanand Singh and senior RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui were suggested, but they apparently turned it down. “If my name was considered for the Speaker’s post, I must have been taken into confidence. That is not the case … I don’t think there is any truth in such reports,” Mr. Siddiqui said. Veteran Congress leader Sadanand Singh refused to comment.

As for the Ministers, the names of Ashok Chaudhury, Amita Bhushan, Vijay Shankar Dubey, Samir Mahaseth and Sadanand Singh are doing the rounds. “My party maintains discipline in such matters…I cannot say anything,” said senior party leader Ashok Ram.

Senior faces in JD(U)

From the JD(U), most of the faces are likely to be seniors like Bijendra Yadav, Vijay Chaudhury, Lallan Singh, P.K. Shahi, Shyam Rajak, Shrawan Kumar, Narendra Narayan Yadav, Lesi Singh, Naushad Alam, Jai Kumar Singh and others.

RJD tight-lipped

The RJD leaders too are tight-lipped, but party sources told The Hindu that Mr. Tejaswi Yadav, Tej Pratap, another son of Mr. Prasad, Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Bhola Yadav, Surendra Yadav, Ram Chandra Purvey, Bhai Virendra, Mundrika Yadav, Alok Mehta, Raj Ballabh Yadav, Surendra Yadav, Shiv Chandra Ram, Abdul Gafoor and Prema Chaudhury are most likely to be in the Cabinet.

To ward off dissension in the party over ministerial berths, Mr. Prasad, while addressing newly elected MLAs on Saturday, said the government was of all the three parties. “Some MLAs will get a place in the Cabinet, while others will not. But, we’ve to work together,” he said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 31, 2021 12:44:46 PM |

Next Story