Bihar Assembly Elections 2015

Bihar sees 57 per cent turnout in first phase

Polling officials leave for their respective polling booths with EVMs on the eve of first phase of Bihar Assembly elections in Bhagalpur on Sunday. Photo: Ranjeet Kumar

Polling officials leave for their respective polling booths with EVMs on the eve of first phase of Bihar Assembly elections in Bhagalpur on Sunday. Photo: Ranjeet Kumar

Forty-nine constituencies which went to polls in the first phase of crucial Bihar assembly elections today recorded a “historic” turnout of 57 per cent. The Election Commission said the turnout is likely to go up by “one or two per cent” as the final reports were yet to come in from the field.

Barring a “few incidents”, the polling in the constituencies located in 10 districts which are affected by Left-wing extremism went off peacefully, Deputy Election Commissioner in-charge of Bihar Umesh Sinha said.

Terming the turnout as both “historic” and “encouraging”, he pointed out that 50.85 per cent voters had turned out in the 2010 assembly polls to cast their vote in the areas which went to polls today.

As the BJP-led NDA and the Nitish-Lalu-led grand alliance face off each other, casting other smaller alliances to the margins, the BJP no longer appears to have the edge it had a fortnight ago, when Prime Minister Narendra Modi appeared to be more popular across castes and regions. >More..

No. of seats being contested by different political parties in the first phase:


No. of seats

















Live updates:

6.15 pm: At the end of the first phase, Bihar has had a 57 per cent voter turnout.

4:20 pm: Around 50% electorates have so far exercised their franchise. Polling is continuing peacefully.

4 pm: Polling concluded in 13 naxal-affected constituencies; underway in remaining 36 constituencies.

3:05 pm: 46% poll percentage recorded till 2 pm for the first phase of Bihar Polls.

12:55 pm: 33.13% voter turnout till noon.

11:51 am: 27% voting till 11 a.m.; Maximum 34% voting recorded in Khagaria district.

11:25 am: Polling is likely to pick up by noon, says additional Chief Electoral Officer R. Lakshaman.

11:04 am: While Banka has recorded a maximum turnout of 14 per cent, Samastipur recorded the lowest turnout of seven per cent till 9 a.m.

10:48 am: 16% voting recorded till 10 a.m.

10:40 am: Polling has been remained peaceful in Maoist-affected districts of Munger, Jamui and Lakhisarai.

9:50 am: Over 10% polling till now.

9:25 am: Polling temporarily halted at Ramchandrapur booth number 86 in Sarairanjan constituency due to EVM malfunction.

8:48 am: 6% voting during first hour of polling.

7:52 am: 1,35,72,339 electorate will cast their votes in the 49 seats for which 583 candidates, including 54 women, are in the fray.

7:46 am: Given a bipolar contest and accretion of different social groups under the banner of either alliance, relative turnouts of various communities could clinch the verdict. If MBCs, Dalits and Forward Castes turn out in more numbers than the Muslim-Yadav-Kurmi coalition on polling days, then the NDA may carry the day. >More...

7:43 am: Union Minister Giriraj Singh casts his vote in Barahiya.

7:36 am: How women voters can tip the scales in Bihar

Women in Bihar have been agents of change in previous elections and have brought in significant political and policy changes in the State. Bihar is the fourth largest State in India in terms of the total number of electors (55 million). It contains 8 per cent of the total number of electors in the country. >More...

7:28 am: Polls are being held in 49 seats, some in Naxal-infested districts of Jamui, Banka, Lakhisarai, Nawada and Munger.

7:26 am: Mr. Modi tweets: "Urging all those voting today in Bihar to vote in large numbers. I particularly urge my young friends to cast their vote."

7:19 am: The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) has an added responsibility — to guard the politicians of Bihar, one of the worst hit by Naxal violence. Of the 15 politicians accorded VIP security cover, 13 are from the BJP or members of its alliance. >More...

7:10 am: Polling for first phase begins.

Phase - I constituencies
Kalyanpur (SC)Cheria BariarpurParbattaBankaRajauli (SC)
WarisnagarBachhwaraBihpurKatoria (ST)Hisua
UjiarpurMatihaniPirpainti (SC)TarapurGobindpur
MorwaSahebpur KamalKahalgaonMungerWarsaliganj
SarairanjanBegusaraiBhagalpurJamalpurSikandra (SC)
MohiuddinnagarBakhri (SC)SultanganjSuryagarhaJamui
BibhutipurAlauli (SC)NathnagarLakhisaraiJhajha
Rosera (SC)KhagariaAmarpurSheikhpuraChakai
HasanpurBeldaurDhauraiya (SC)Barbigha

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 8, 2022 5:47:46 pm |